Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This recipe gets my family's approval. The chicken is flavorful and the crust is perfectly crispy. I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I tried this recipe on the weekend and my family LOVED it. I was concerned that the amount of Cayenne pepper might be excessive, but it was just right. I don't remember the last time I made Southern Fried Chicken, but, my family loved it enough to request a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I tried this recipe and it came out great! I did follow some of the other reviews and not double dip. The first time I made it I did and it didn't taste as flavorful to me but the second time wow! Great flavor and so good. I also marinated the chicken in the buttermilk over night. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guarino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I used this recipe as my starting point, I subbed Louisiana hot sauce for the Dijon mustard in the marinade, and I doubled the salt. Also omitted the cayenne pepper. For the dredge, I decreased garlic powder to 1 1/2 tsp, omitted onion powder and added 1 tbsp paprika ( something my mom did) fried in butter cris o, and it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was a great recipe, nice and crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. Could use some more flavor, but that could be my fault since I only marinated for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Thank you many times for this incredible recipe! I'm a single adult male. I almost always ate outside until this year. I always disliked spending time in the kitchen previously. Now that I work from home and also for the cost cutting reasons, I decided to learn cooking a little bit recently. I'd like to mention that I always stayed away from fried food except french fries I occasionally (once a year or or so) ate at Mc Donald's and etc. I came across this website and the recipe while searching to know how to cook Country Style Chicken which I accidentally watched on a TV show. Theirs was different but i read your recipe and it seemed simple. Normally, I won't bother trying out anything that has more than 4 ingredients and at least one of them is unknown to me which I may never use again. Anyhow, the only different thing I did was I used reduced fat buttermilk with two thick and large pieces of chicken breasts cut into 10 pieces (drumstick size) which I bought to cook Curry Chicken with Coconut Milk. I said"what the heck!"I just served it with white rice and flax seeds. I couldn't wait to give your recipe 5 stars and tell my experience. I took two bites and my reaction "OH, MY GOD!"Seriously! It was crispy&yummy. The chicken breast melted in my mouth! Btw, after a few bites, I decided to add some hot ketchup sauce (like buffalo sauce) on the side. Thnx 2 Utube,I used the left over marinade IMMEDIATELY to bake some biscuits-made my 1st ever dough and biscuits. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Terrance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The chicken didn't have a flavor at all. I used everything from the recipe. The coating was very flaky and it was a beautiful golden brown. I will not make this again unless there is something I could add to bring in more flavor. I'm not sure why it received 5 stars, because it is bland like chicken from a hospital cafeteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. The flour mixture was absolutly NOT enough to cover all of the chicken pieces ONCE, Let alone TWICE!!!! So please, at least triple the flour part if you want enough to cover everything twice. Secondly, after I stopped 1/3 of the way through, to triple my flour, when I finally got it all covered and redipped twice, I fried it as directed. ONLY TO WATCH EVERY LAST BIT OF FLOUR BREADING come right off in the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Hampton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was a good start. I double dipped and the texture of the breading was perfect. The buttermilk marinade was great. My one complaint is that the flour coating was bland, even when i added more salt / pepper and the addition of paprika to the flour mixture. This needs A LOT more salt and pepper. Will definitely make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States