Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Absolutely loved this recipe my family did too .. The marinade and the seasoning was perfect, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma june

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Oh my GOODNESS! This recipe makes phenomenal chicken fingers!! I used two 16oz. packages of free range chicken tenderloins which ended up being about 18 in number. I mixed up the buttermilk marinade using 1/2 and 1/2 spicy brown and dijon mustards. I added about a teaspoon of a spice mixture I use for regular roasted chicken in addition to the spices called for and also used a tad less cayenne because I didn't want overkill for my kids, and it was the perfect amount of kick. I let the tenderloins sit in the marinade in the fridge for about 6 hours before breading them. In the breading mixture I added 1 tsp. each paprika, salt, and white pepper. I grabbed each tenderloin and tossed them one at a time in the flour mixture before letting them "set" on a cookie sheet sprinkled with more flour. To fry I only used about a cup of Spectrum palm oil shortening (it is non-hydrogenated) in a hefty saute pan over medium high heat. I flipped the fingers when the edges were opaque and the bottoms were deep golden brown. (It easily took less than 4 minutes per side.) I did about 6 fingers per batch and drained them on paper towels layered over a cooking rack. They fried up quickly - the first tenders out of the pan were still warm by the end of the third batch. These were INCREDIBLE. They FAR outdid the best chicken tenders we have ever had with our kids at any restaurant (even high end places couldn't top this!). It made a little mess, but at the end it was totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The coating didn't have very much flavor, in my opinion. I used the seasonings exactly as written but it needed a lot more salt. I think the double dipping made it too bready and the coating turned very dark before the chicken was done. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Yum! I followed the recipe exact, only adding Johnny's Seasoning Salt (I'm a loyal local girl, if anything) to my dredge and I baked the chicken after only because I'm super paranoid about underdone chicken. Not my most favorite fried chicken recipe but a close second. NOTE: I used only legs and thighs, because that's what I had in the deep freeze. The double dip.....ABSOLUTE MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was excellent !! I found that if I leave the chicken out after coating for about 30 minutes or so the batter clings MUCH better and you don't lose any in the oil which causes burnt crumbs and shortens the oil's life. I have started using Canola oil which really seems to handle high temps without smoking. After 40 years of frying chicken I think I have it mastered.....it took a LOT of trials and errors !!! You don't even want to HEAR about my first batch of fried chicken....let's just say I found out that you can't fry even SLIGHTLY frozen chicken. It mat be pretty and brown on the outside but........use your imagination !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert B. Brumfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was a HUGE hit with the kids and the roommates. I followed the recipe almost exactly, other than adding more heat, we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerluver1277

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I used boneless chicken breasts. After marinating and double battering like the recipe called for, I fried the chicken in an inch of oil just enough to crisp the crust then finished it in a 375° oven for 20 minutes till the chicken was cooked through. The buttermilk marinade was flavorful and made the chicken so moist and tender. The seasonings in the flour were just right. Will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I find that if you marinate over night its just better, and after lay the chicken on a rack to season before dredging in the flour and baking powder you will not burn the spices making them just a bit bitter. I also add 2 teaspoons of black pepper, 1 if fresh, and 1 tablespoon of thyme to the spice dusting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Oh my, I may be a Northern Girl but I know good Southern Fried Chicken when I taste it! I never grew up eating fried chicken and my husband had a craving for some good "Southern-Sytle" fried chicken so I read through a bunch of recipes but obviously knew that fried chicken has to be moist my on the inside and the breading has to be thick enough to stand up to the frying process so it can be crunchy on the outside. This recipe is perfect because it has a buttermilk marinade. I put the cut up chicken in a glass bowl and filled it with the marinade. I turned the chicken a few times during 6 hours. I drained the chicken in a colander and patted it dry then breaded it in the flour. For the flour mixture I used 3 cups flour, 1 Tbsp. garlic powder, 1 Tbsp. onion powder, 2 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. salt. 1 tsp. pepper. I then follwed the steps outlined in this recipe. We used an electric fryer so our cooking time was a bit less than 30 minutes. You have to watch your chicken closely. I don't know which I like better -fried chicken that's fresh out of the frier warm or cold out of the fridge the next day. Either way, I'm hooked! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that definitely makes "Southern-Sytle Buttermik Fried Chicken"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States