Southern Style Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Southern Style Foodie
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was short on time, so I used beef broth to get me started. I also added a little sugar and ketchup because the tomatoes where bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very tasty, but seemed like too much tomato. I put in one 16 oz. bag of frozen Gumbo mix which has spices in it so it was zingy enough. Next time I will put in more veggies. I think it would be good over rice if you leave out the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a mighty fine recipe... just like Mom's... now some folks on here said something about tough meat.. Well the secret to cooking down tough meat is to seer it first to just brown the outsides... then get out your pressure cooker to cook it down in 20 minutes or less... let it cool down and cook the rest of your ingrediants all together either with the cooker top on or just left open like a regular pot... that tough piece of meat will fall apart and be as tender as you could ever imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
As a true southerner, I would suggest serving this with cornbread and a green salad. Delicious! Make sure you salt & pepper the meat well before browning. I also add a few shakes of seasoned salt when adding the tomatoes, Also, just because I like mine a little more soupy, I add some beef broth or water flavored with beef bouillon. As far as spicing it up,I put a bottle of tabasco pepper sauce on the table for those who like a little more kick. The tabasco flavor blends perfectly with this stew. This is the easiest way to please everyone without making it too spicy or too mild. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I am from the south and I thought this stew was quite bland. After adding onion, garlic powder, pepper, celery seed was still a little bland, so just threw in a box of Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix, was much better. Guess I am from the spicy south---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is a very good recipe. Great comfort food. I did flour the meat before browning and it worked well. Used canola oil instead of butter for browning. I also added a can of beef broth and some baby carrots. Served with cornbread. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
ROLL TIDE! everything is better here in Alabama. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Stew meat needs to be cooked at least 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Then it will be tender. Cook meat for about an hour and a half, then add all the vegetables and cook for another hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Certainly southern- and I know southern! If you were born and raised in Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, or Virginia your whole family will love this delicous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States