Southern Style Banana Split Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was my mothers recipe almost to the "T". a couple of things i have learned from making it over the years: 1. before putting on the cream cheese freeze the crust for a few hours, will make your life a lot easier 2. adding vanilla adds an excellent little flavor (it does get hidden amongst the flavors but you can tell its there) 3. soaking the bananas in the pineapple juice (dont get the heavy syrup kind) will keep the bananas from turning brown before you get to serve it. plus the pineapple/banana juice you just made tastes good too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardjrt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
I made this for my husband to take to work to celebrate a co-worker's birthday. I thought it would be an easy alternative to taking the fixings for real banana splits (which she loves!). Everyone loved it and requested the recipe. The co-worker liked it so much she took "leftovers" home for her children. The recipe is great but I made a few simple changes---less sugar in the crust mixture (cut to about 1/4 cup, used "light" cream cheese to cut fat, used fewer maraschino cherries, and kept the crushed peanuts to about 1/2-3/4 cup. It was still great! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I have made so many desserts from this site and this is the BEST recipe I have ever made. I did shave chocolate on top and it looked unbelievable. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is absolutely one of the best tasting desserts I've ever had. I remember my mom making it when I was a child and have never thought of it since until I read this recipe. The whole family loves it. It's going in our family favorites file, right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
WOW! It was amazing! Made it for a small get together and got RAVE reviews! Subbed the peanuts for pecans....other then that i followed to the T. Great recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
HUGE hit with teenagers. (And adults who are teenagers at heart!) Had a bit of trouble spreading the cream cheese/sugar goo over the crumb crust. It kept sticking to the crust and wanting to pull it up. But I didn't give up, and the end result was a fantastic dessert! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I need to get my mom's recipe for this dessert because her's is PERFECT. I made this one yesterday as the recipe states. It's very good but alittle on the bland side. I know my mom's had choc. syrup on top and the filling had a distinct butter flavor that was out of this world. In fact, if I remember correctly she mentioned once how the filling had a whole stick of butter in it. Well, I liked this one OK but will contact my mom to get her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Delicious! I freeze the crust and cream cheese layers way ahead of time, to save work. I whip one pint of heavy cream rather than whipped topping. I thinly slice 4 cups of strawberrries, mixed with 2 tablespoons of sugar, rather than using the cherries. I layer the bananas, then pineapple, then strawberries, then whipped cream. I toast 1/2 cups of sliced almonds and sprinkle them on top, rather than peanuts. Our family likes this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe. I let my cake refrigerate overnight. Some changes I did to the recipe: 1. After pressing the graham cracker mixture(made from scratch) at the bottom of the pan, I baked it at 350 for 15 minutes. I then let it cool off by placing it in the freezer for at least 20 minutes. 2. I used 3 (8 ounce) packages of cream cheese instead of 2. That change required me to use 2 1/4 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 1 1/2. (I used more because it's a challenge to spread the cream cheese mixture[if made with 2 packages] over the prepared graham cracker crust without picking up pieces of the crust. Using 2 cream cheese packages is not enough in my opinion. Using 3 cream cheese packages was much easier and quicker for me to spread the cream cheese mixture over the graham cracker crust.) 3. Not a minor change, but I used a 20 ounce can of drained pineapple, instead of using a 15 ounce can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was awesome! I used real whipped cream rather than whipped topping and sugared pecans in place of the peanuts. I also added a layer of sliced strawberries. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States