Southern Spicy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. We all have variations that we use to make each recipe that we prepare to our own liking. My 'variation' is that I pan fry it until brown and then put on a cooling rack on top of a rimmed cookie sheet and then put in a 350* oven to finish baking. I will make again and again and again! GREAT RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
It was good but not amazing. It needed more spiciness and flavor. I need not taste the cayenne at all.m. I added some Italian spices, seasoned salt, and even a limitless adobo, again, just ok. The crust did stick very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Okay. I only gave it three stars not because it wasn't good, it was good. It wasn't great, but that's because I didn't make it great. I made drumsticks and cooked it for 13 or so minutes each and each came out really dark. Is that how it's supposed to look? Also, I let it marinate for just a little over 2 hours, but there really wasn't much flavor. It might have been because it lacked a sufficient amount of pepper/seasoning/pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Bland, no pop no snap not spicy, if your are looking for spicy don't waste your time or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I also doubled the cayenne and hot pepper sauce. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I just made this Word for Word. I think it needs to maranate a little longer ( like overnight ? ) OR at least all day. Anyway, My Wife and I loved it... Also, we had left over batter so we Deep fried some Mushrooms alond side of this Chicken. Yum Yum. Next time, I'll use more Hot Sauce and Cayenne as we love it spicy. Thanks Maureen. I'll be making this again next week.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was the best and crispiest fried chicken I have had. Better than any restaurant. The chicken was moist and the coating did not come away in the pan. I cooked it in my grandfathers cast iron chicken fryer with a mixture of vegetable oil and duck fat. The flavour was amazing. Even the leftovers tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Among one of the best fried chicken recipes iv'e ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I used chicken tenderloins instead of a whole chicken and they turned out really well. I made 2 batches over the coarse of 3 days and found the first batch to be a little lacking in the heat department so during the next batch I tripled the hot sauce in the marinade and tripled the cayenne in the breading and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe for old fashioned home fried chicken. One of the best I've made. Not spicy enough for me though but next time I'll spice it more. Overall GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States