Southern Spain-Style Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I really liked this recipe! I lived in Spain for a semester in college and this reminded me of the gazpacho I used to get there. I made a few changes - used red pepper instead of green, added 2 tablespoons of white wine vinegar, and added a little paprika instead of cayenne. I also used 1 large clove of garlic instead of 2, but that's just my preference. Tip - Make sure all veggies are seeded including cucumber and tomatoes. I like to serve mine cold with pita chips and feta sprinkled on top, yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Outstanding! Every bit as delicious as that which We ordered every day while in Rota, Seville, Cadiz and El Puerto de Santa Maria. Many variations are available here in south FL but none as good as this, especially when made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Outrageously good. The bread is a must; don't skip it! Instead of cayenne pepper, I added two chili peppers, because that's the way I roll :) Also, if you notice that the soup is little too thick, you can thin it out a bit with a splash of V-8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Mmmm, yummy! Was looking for a recipe to use up tomatoes, and thought I would try this one. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very tasty, hearty refreshing soup. Not a thin/runny pico-like soup. I served it with some garlic toasted ciabatta bread on the side and some extra diced pepper, tomato, cucumber on top. Bright and beautiful. I did use orange bell peppers instead of green to keep the color red-orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Delicious! It wasn't like I remember gazpacho in Sevilla, but every place makes it different so it could still be authentic. It turned out a little thick, so maybe next time I'll add some tomato juice. I reduced the recipe to 2 servings, used 2 tomatoes and three slices of a medium-sized loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
this was simply put outstanding. I did make some changes. I used red bell peppers because I can not stand the taste of green bell pepper I tripled the amount of garlic I used a whole cucumber and instead of cayenne pepper I used spanish paprika I also increased the amount of balsamic and added a splash of sherry wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was wonderful - delicious, easy, great consistency... Will be my go-to gazpacho recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
A huge hit-- this stuff went quick. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste (as per another reviewers suggestion) at the end; it didn't taste tomato-y enough with out it. I also added cumin to taste (maybe 1/4 teaspoon). Which it didn't need, but gave it a unique and totally delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe was a great base for Gazpacho. My family loved it. I used whatever we had on hand + bread. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States