Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I think the butter flavoring threw it offand it wasn't as moist as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IowaAmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is the first red velvet cake I have made. I made it for my husband's birthday and was hoping for a great cake. Unfortunately, even after adding in some oil, since a lot of reviews claimed it was so dry, it was still dry and dense. The tops and edges were a bit hard/crunchy. I cooked it at a little lower heat and did not overcook. Not sure what went wrong here - if it was the recipe, or me. Also, I think it has too much of a chocolate taste. It is basically red chocolate cake. Something is missing for the true red velvet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
i like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Soooo disappointed!!!! The frosting looks like oatmeal and yes I thoroughly chilled and whipped it. I was able to salvage it by adding about 3 cups of sifted powdered sugar and 3/4 cup of sifted dark cocoa. The positive is that my family said it was very creamy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
What makes an exceptional Red Velvet Cake is the frosting.This is what makes the cake,not a cream cheese frosting ( which by the way I love) So if you see a recipe for the R.V.C. with cream cheese for the frosting, run hard and fast!! This is the ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe since my mom died. I'm going to make it today. I just hope its taste like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Best Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was ok. The actual cake part was really good, and it was pretty moist, but I followed the recipe exactly, and the frosting came out really watery. The cake just absorbed it and it ended up soggy. Not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States