Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I only used the recipe for the frosting/icing...I used the frosting/icing for the Strawberry Cake from Scratch ( from Allrecipe). Had rave reviews from family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is a beautiful and delicious cake. MAKE SURE you let the flour,salt, milk mixture for the frosting COOl COMPLETELY!!! before you add the remaining butter etc. or it will curdle. Done right this frosting makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have been making this recipe for many years, and it great. The version I have varies in that the flour mixture for the frosting cools to just barely lukewarm, instead of cooling completely. It's tricky, but it helps avoid small pasty lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Harpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
So much better than the cream cheese icings that other recipes on here use!! The icing on this cake is what makes the cake! The icing is tricky but if you simply let the mixture completely cool as stated it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The cake was delicious! I made it several times. I used apple cider vinegar instead because that was all I had on hand. The frosting, on the other hand, was gross. Maybe it was because I used butter-flavored shortening. I used cream cheese icing the second time aorund.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The frosting makes the cake. It was the same cake my mother made for me every year on my birthday. I took a short cut and used the Red Velvet cake mix and no one knew, delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was an exceptional cake. I am learning to use fondant, and you need a dense cake to hold up... at least I do, to the fondant application. You also want a great tasting cake. This one fits both the requirements. I dirty iced with a buttercream then used a home-made marshmallow fondant, and it was spectacular! The buttercream and fondant seal in the moistness of the cake, and it stay wonderful for some time. I made this one into a Sheet cake for a grooms cake. You will need to double the recipe if you want a single layer sheet cake from a 12"x16"x3" pan. To use a 9"x13"x2" pan, calculate for 24 servings or 1.5 times the amount for the ingredients listed. I used a Wilton cake leveler (not the exact name for it) to make the top nice and level for top layer to sit on. I like thick layers so the 24 serving recipe is a single 12"x16"x2"-2.5" layer. Wilton Cake release (no-stick spray) is a must. Many Walmart's now carry a great line of Wilton cake products!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is an excellent red velvet cake. The only thing I did different is I used about 1-1.5 oz. of food coloring because I like my red velvet cake really red. This cake has a nice light chocolate flavor and great texture. A little chewy without being too dense. For those of you who complained the cake was dry you may being using too much flour. Make sure you are not scooping the flour into the cup but spooning it in and leveling the cup. Keep the flour light by sifting. This also makes it easier to incorporate into the batter without overmixing and thus creating higher gluten levels = overly dense cakes that dry out. If you live in a dry climate add an extra egg yolk and a T. of oil to keep your cake moist. This is a southern cake and it is very humid in the south. They don't worry about anything drying out :) Also, you must really whip the butter/sugar/eggs till they are really fluffy and airy. I add eggs one at a time and then just let it keep going. As for the frosting I must admit I did use all butter and it is excellent. I just kept whipping it until it was not longer gritty. The butter was very soft so this didn't take too long. I also found it to be very thick. I didn't want to use milk to thin it because I wasn't sure if it would make the whole thing colapse. I used 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream and that make it spreadable. This is an excellent recipe if you have the patience to make it. This is not a 123 cake so please don't try to rush it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful recipe. The frosting absolutely makes this cake!! If you don't have butter flavored extract, don't make a special trip to buy it because I didn't think it added anything to the cake. I also used paste food coloring (comes in little jars, made by Wilton, buy at a hobby shop) because liquid can affect the taste. Make sure you only mix the cake ingredients until just mixed together, overmixing will dry it out! Beat your frosting for a while, it needs to be whipped very well to get the right consistency. Finally, I always make my own buttermilk by adding a teaspoon or so of white vinegar to my milk, and let it sit for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Southern? This recipe comes the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States