Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is an exceptionally moist and tasty cake that I liked even better than the red velvet cupcakes at our most esteemed cupcake shop in town. I really think that the success lies in the method... follow it exactly and it will turn out. I read the other reviews and made sure to really cream the butter and sugar well (adding air helps with leavening) and was very careful not to over-mix once I started adding flour. And that vinegar and baking soda combo... loved it. But you have to work fast! The frosting was a very interesting change from cream cheese frosting... I like both, so whatever suits your mood and taste. Again, though, the method was critical, and it took me 10 minutes of beating the butter and sugar together to get rid of the grainy-ness. The result, however, was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicaone
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Wow! This brings back so many memories. My mom made this exact recipe for my dad every year for his B-Day, it was his favorite cake. I never got the recipe from her, so I knew when I read this, this was it! After she made the icing I always got to lick the beaters, the icing is what makes this cake. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicaone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The cake was good but the frosting was so runny. The flavor of the frosting, however, was great. I tried to add powder sugar but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This icing is a variation of my grandmothers: 1 cup butter or margarine, 1 cup sugar, beaten until light and fluffy. Cook until thick 5 Tablespoons AP flour and 1 cup milk. Cook completely. Add cooled four mixture to creamed butter and sugar. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until stiff, about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The cake was delicious. My husband insisted on cream cheese frosting (it was his bday cake) but next time I will definitely try the frosting in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrondaT
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I thought the cocoa was a little much so I used 2 tablespoons instead of 3. I used cream cheese frosting. My husband said they tasted great. I normally use oil instead of crisco and 1 tablespoon of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
When I made my red velvet cake, I used a different recipe, what caught my eye was t he frosting part of this recipe. The frosting alone is what I am giving 5 stars to. In the past, I had always used a cream cheese and butter based frosting for red velvet cake, not anymore! This is the frosting for me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made the recipe exactly according to the recipe, except maybe not enough red food coloring, since I didn't measure that. This was my first time making red velvet cake. The cake tasted fine - nothing great. It was kind of hard around the edges. Note the batter is quite thick, which took me a little by surprise, but is as expected according to my google search. The frosting too was fine - nothing great. It had kind of a gritty texture and wasn't as thick as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The best red velvet EVER. 5 stars are not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
THE BEST! ive never made a red velvet cake before so i searched until i found the best, and i found the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States