Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The cake was good but the frosting was so runny. The flavor of the frosting, however, was great. I tried to add powder sugar but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This icing is a variation of my grandmothers: 1 cup butter or margarine, 1 cup sugar, beaten until light and fluffy. Cook until thick 5 Tablespoons AP flour and 1 cup milk. Cook completely. Add cooled four mixture to creamed butter and sugar. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until stiff, about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The cake was delicious. My husband insisted on cream cheese frosting (it was his bday cake) but next time I will definitely try the frosting in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrondaT
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I thought the cocoa was a little much so I used 2 tablespoons instead of 3. I used cream cheese frosting. My husband said they tasted great. I normally use oil instead of crisco and 1 tablespoon of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
When I made my red velvet cake, I used a different recipe, what caught my eye was t he frosting part of this recipe. The frosting alone is what I am giving 5 stars to. In the past, I had always used a cream cheese and butter based frosting for red velvet cake, not anymore! This is the frosting for me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made the recipe exactly according to the recipe, except maybe not enough red food coloring, since I didn't measure that. This was my first time making red velvet cake. The cake tasted fine - nothing great. It was kind of hard around the edges. Note the batter is quite thick, which took me a little by surprise, but is as expected according to my google search. The frosting too was fine - nothing great. It had kind of a gritty texture and wasn't as thick as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The best red velvet EVER. 5 stars are not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
THE BEST! ive never made a red velvet cake before so i searched until i found the best, and i found the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kuebel4
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuebel4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanco, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Golding
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Hi all...I just made this cake this morning for my son's boyscout bake sale. This cake is awesome and so easy! The frosting is one of the best I've ever tasted...I didn't have any problems with it at all. I totally recommend the cake and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Golding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wrangell, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States