Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Really good pulled pork, and simple too. I mess around with the spices, but this is my base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made it pretty close to directions but used 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups water..also double the liquid smoke..big hit at my super bowl party. used small onion rolls and daves devils spit bbq just a little on each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The best pulled pork recipe on here! Taste exactly like the one my Godmother used to make when I was a kid. I will definitely by making this more often! Thank you to the originator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
this seemed to cook MUST faster than I expected, but I think my crock pot cooks really fast. very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. It is like the typical un-sauced pulled pork you get in bbq restaurants, but far more juicy! The meat was so tender, and had a rich savory flavor that went great on the buttered and toasted hamburger buns I served it with. I made this in my small crockpot (3qt or so), and thought there was too much liquid, but it was perfect. The only slight change I made to the recipe was to use cajun seasoning, because I did not have creole. I read the ingredients, and they matched up almost perfectly, though the recipe I saw for creole had some oregano, so I added that. I was pretty heavy handed in the seasoning dept, and I think that just added to the flavor. Also, when it was time to shred the meat, I removed all the loose bits and fat, along with about 1/2 the cooking liquid, before adding the shredded pork back to the pot. This made it easier to serve for me. This fed my family of 3, with anough left over for lunch for dad tomorrow. This is a good recipe for my family because I love bbq, but not the sauce, while my husband adores the sauce. This will be made frequently from here on out! Don't forget to brown the meat nicely, I think it lended a lot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I usually do not give anything 5 stars. This was good. Simple and the meat goes with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We make this all the time and have never bothered with BBQ sauce, although that would be great too. We love it with au jus on pistolettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Made it just like the recipe and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
i have made this a few times now and im putting the stuff in the crockpot right now to make it again. awesome recipe!!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Delicious with just a few lil changes to suit our 2-person family! Used a bone-in 3.25lb shoulder arm blade roast. Left whole, rubbed with 2 T Creole Rub (Cajun is too salty for us); left wrapped overnight in frig. Did not sear. Minced 1/2 sweet onion with 5 cloves garlic in processor. In crock I mixed 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth, 1 T apple cider vinegar; 1 T Worchester; 1 t liquid smoke, added garlic & onion and threw in two dried chipotle chiles for fun. Put on high for one hour then put pork in with 12 oz. of Odells IPA Beer. At 6 hours it was ready to pull. Strained liquid off and refrigerated liquid overnight to separate fat off; cooled then pulled pork, discarding bone, fat and silverskin (do not feed this to pets - onions are very bad for dogs and cats!) The next day, put most of the defatted liquid and shredded (pulled) pork back into crock pot to warm and infuse juices. At this point I corrected spiciness to suit us; Hubster uses BBQ sauces, I do not, so it has to be tasty from the get-go for me! We ate sliders with a variety of added yummies like roasted green chile, havarti cheese, red onion, homemade refrigerator pickles; Hubster prefers Trader Joes Sweet and Smokey BBQ on the bread. I also made my own Pico d'Gallo and we enjoyed this on tortillas with eggs the next day...which is why I NEVER add BBQ sauce to the crockpot, so I can be creative with leftovers! This freezes well too. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States