Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
As a Texas girl living in Montana, I think many reviewers missed the point of what pulled pork is supposed to be. The meat is intended to have sauce added when placed on the bun. You want the smokey flavor of the pork (not all the spices). When you smoke a pork butt (or in this case, cooking it in the crock pot)the purpose is to get the pork very tender. You dress the pulled pork after its done with sauce, Jalapeños, onions, swiss cheese, etc. This recipe is perfect for what it is intended to do--make the pork tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
767 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANETTEMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This recipe was an unbelievable hit at my daughter's graduation party. I did a trial batch with Sweet Babys Rays, and my hubby and I were not impressed. They were sampling "Cattlemen's" BBQ sauce at Sam's and we instantly knew that it was the sauce that would make my main course a huge hit. By the third batch I didn't bother browning the pork, onions, or garlic. Just throw it all in the crockpot and cook on high for 6 hours. The meat was so tender all I had to do was press it with a fork and it fell apart. I did not use the juices in the crockpot after the meat was cooked - it sounds like some did. I stirred the pork in Cattleman's and bagged it in ziploc freezer bags and froze for the big day. I let them set out overnight to defrost. I saved a quart of the juices in the fridge just in case I needed them to revive the pork, but it was not necessary at all so I discarded it. ABSOULTELY WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Springwater, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Overall, very good if you like pulled pork. I didn't bother browning the pork first though. I seasoned it with "Cajun Seasoning Mix" from this site and added it to the slow cooker along with a bit of minced garlic. I left out the onion (personal perference when it comes to pulled pork). I've done a few "southern" pulled pork recipes and most call for cider vinegar vs. just water so I used 2 cups of apple cider vinegar and 2 cups of water. I let that go for 5 hours on low. I removed the meat and shredded it with two forks. I drained the liquid reserving 2 cups and put that back into the crock pot along with the shredded pork and then added 2 Tbsp. of liquid smoke. I also added a little brown sugar and cayenne pepper. I let that go for another hour on low. This is great topped with your favorite bbq sauce or try "White BBQ Sauce" from this site along with a side of coleslaw and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was really good (granted I adjusted it to suit my own preferences)- the meat came out very tender. The meat probably isn't flavorful enough to stand on its own and so should be made into sandwiches or add barbeque sauce (eta - smokey mesquite bbq sauce will probably be your best bet with this recipe). I made a couple adjustments for this - I used olive oil instead of butter for browning the meat and cooking the vegetables - a little healthier. I used less liquid smoke and added about 2 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce to the slow cooker. I also added a couple sprigs of fresh thyme and one sprig rosemary to the slow cooker and removed it after cooking. I also used 1 can chicken broth and 2 cups water for the liquid in the slow cooker to give it a little more flavor. For cooking time, I kept this in the slow cooker on high for about 2 hours and then lowered the heat for the remaining time and everything turned out really well. I used this for pulled pork sandwiches (on a kaiser roll, with a little apple cider vinegar, some texas pete hot sauce, and topped with restaurant-style cole slaw made from the recipe on this site). The sandwiches turned out really well!! As good as any I've had in the restaurants in the south. I'm not sure that I'd make this to eat without the coleslaw and hot sauce to add flavor or some sort of BBQ sauce, but it was the perfect recipe for the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I really think this is a 5 star recipe. I had to change it a little bit, but only because I could not find a boneless pork roast at my grocer. So I followed the recipe except that my meat was not cut up, I cooked it all on the bone. I used quite a bit more liquid smoke, also. My meat was so tender that it literally fell off of the bone and shredded by itself. lol It was pretty flavorful, but I added additional cajun seasoning and garlic to the meat after I shredded it. I served Jack Daniels BBQ sauce on the side. Great comfort food! Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I wouldn't dare ruin this with barbeque sauce, but I did feel the liquid needed more flavoring. Instead of the water, I used beer and chicken broth. I also threw in some pepperoncini peppers with it's juice. My guests couldn't get enough at our dance recital party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Delicous! Cooked 8 hours on low, then added 1 bottle of gourmet BBQ sauce to cook another 2 hours. Everyone agreed as good as any BBQ restaurant! Served with Waldorf salad- perfect side with sweet, creamy, and crisp taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe! Tastes as if I smoked it on a smoker all day! This dish is becoming a regular in my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
It needed more flavor so I added more liquid smoke, some honey & bbq sauce. It also needs to simmer longer for a better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Excellent! Very easy and delicious. Highly recommend as a party entree if having a buffet. We mixed in a bit of bbq sauce after we pulled it, then added to taste on the bun. Teenagers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States