Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly except I had about 1 3/4 cup beef broth in my fridge that needed using so I used that in place of some of the water. I just added enough water to get to 4 cups. I served this on toasted hoagie rolls, drizzled with a little sweet & spicy barbeque sauce and topped with coleslaw. The meat alone was fantastic and made some amazing sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Just made this today. I was pretty worried about leaving it in the crock-pot on HIGH for 6 hours, but it is fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly and got exactly what I was hoping for: tender, flavorful pork ready for a pulled pork sandwich, a creative salad, or a variety of other purposes. I saved the liquid in a separate container, and the meat was plenty moist without using the liquid tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Made it as directed, and loved it!!! Served on Whole wheat buns with BBQ Sause. I have a picky family and when they all get up for more, it is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Love this, we eat it all the time! I have even used the left overs for pork tacos! Just add a can of Rotel and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Great Recipe!!!!! Thanks, I don't change a thing about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I didn't brown the pork first (I dont see the point, if you're using a slow cooker) I just put the roast in whole with all the ingredients and let it cook. If you get a fattier cut of pork (like a butt roast) you don't need all that water either. I think I only used 1 cup of chicken broth for extra flavor. After cooking, I removed the fat and shredded the meat, I still thought it could use some extra seasoning, so I added some extra cajun seasoning to the shredded meat. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
What a treat! I followed the recipe as directed, except for scaling up the ingredients as I used a bigger (6-lb) roast. Even with a large roast, 4 cups water was waaay too much. However, after cooking, I divided the extra liquid - froze some for making gravy for other meals, and thickened some with cornstarch to mix with the pork instead of using BBQ sauce. The meat is very tender and nicely seasoned - a big hit with DH who called it a "top 10" recipe for sure! Will be making this often. Thank-you Brenda for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A HUGE hit with the family! I left out the liquid smoke, and added BBQ sauce (then put back in the oven for about 15 minutes). It had a nice "bite" to it. Everybody was surprised I was able to pull it off! Will definitely make this again. It would also be a great party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have made this recipe approximately 5 times and have always made it as written. The most recent time I made this dish I opted not to brown the meat or onion/garlic mixture. I just threw everything into the crockpot and let it cook. It turned out just as well as when I do brown the meat. I will continue to make this recipe, which I always pair with the Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce that can also be found on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was a great easy to follow recipe. I've only made it once. Once cooked I mixed it with one of our favorite BBQ sauces, reheated the mixture slowly and made sandwiches. They were a hit at the table. I want to try this with different BBQ sauces inlcuding a home made sauce. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States