Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Yes, I get that this recipe is to be served with sauce. Id give more stars if it included a recipe for an exceptional sauce, but my guinea pig meat-eater said the meat on its own needed a little extra seasoning. We added McCormick Grill Mates Pork Rub, seasoning salt, pepper, a dash of garlic powder. He says it was decent and not as bland AFTER our modifications. As for the sauce, we simmered Hines ketchup, Pace picante sauce, Mesquite seasoning, smoked paprika, and Kraft Original BBQ sauce, yellow mustard, and a splash of Budweiser for half an hour. The meat did come out fork-tender and juicy. Just needed a lil extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It was perfect for what we wanted it. I used it to make pulled pork tacos. Inspired by tacos I had at a little hole in the wall place, I topped them with pico de gallo, cheese and remoulade (sp?) sauce. leftovers we used for sandwiches, and made a quesadilla with a little bbq sauce and cheese and dipped in salsa Verde. They were all very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
this was awesome! I didn't do the skillet fry - I put everything in the slow cooker and let it cook as instructed. I might try it with cole slaw like the other review commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Used pork loin roast for a leaner result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I've used this technique the last few times I've made pulled pork but substitute my own secret recipe rub and mix in some of my homemade barbeque sauce before serving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
turned out great, altered it a bit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This recipe was delicious! The only changes I made were to use two cups of beef broth for my liquid and I used more liquid smoke. I did not brown my meat beforehand. I just cut it into small chuncks and put it in the crock pot with the onions, garlic, broth, cajun seasoning, and liquid smoke. I cooked it on Low for about 6 hours, then took the meat out and shredded it and poured out some of the liquid, then placed it all back in the crock pot. We made sandwiches from it topped with a little BBQ sauce (Cattlemens-Kansas City Classic) and some coleslaw. However, I tasted the meat beforehand and it was tender and juicy and had a great flavor all on its own! This is the best pulled pork recipe I have found! Thanks, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made this for a fund raiser serving 150 people... it was a big hit with many people asking for the recipe! Love the fact that I could adjust the serving amount on this site! Adjustments I made were cooking the day before.. letting the pork sit lightly sauced over night and reheating with more sauce at the time of serving. Very tender flavorfull meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Not even close to tasty! I have had to load this up with barbeque sauce. And, unfortunately, I made it for a big crowd. Extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Cook time is way off. Even with all the liquid, the meat was dry. Unless you're a huge fan of Carolina BBQ, do NOT sub 2 cups of cider vinegar for the water. All you will taste is vinegar and the meat will be useless as leftovers for anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States