Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Absolutely loved this! I put everything straight into the crock pot without browning. The shoulder roast was so tender that it fell into pieces after 5 hours when I tried to remove it. Will be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Found it to be a little spicy. Maybe my cajun seasoning was too strong. But otherwise great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I make it for large parties or slow-moving family Sundays. It has never failed to please even the pickiest of eaters. I follow the recipe to the last letter and have always found success. Thanks to the recipe contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is great. I did make one substitution; instead of 4 cups of water I used 2 small cans of pineapple juice (12 ozs. total). This really adds a huge amount of flavor to the recipe and reduces the liquid to just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This pork is superb. Added a bit more liquid smoke, some meat seasoning, all purpose seasoning, and some sea salt. Served with Slaw on onion rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I don't like pork, but I LOVED this recipe. It is the Liquid Smoke, I think, that made it so delicious. I followed the recipe pretty close, but didn't cook the onions and garlic--just threw them in the crock pot. Think I'll make a pork roast next week using this recipe and adding potatoes and carrot and nixing the bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Merchant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very Good Flavor. I Put A Little Twist On It And Added One Can Of Green Chilli AndTwo Can Of Dark Red Kidney Beans And Served It Over Rice My Family Really Enjoyed It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Loved it! Used 2 c cider vinegar in place of 2 c water. Used cajun seasoning from Winco bulk section - not so salty. Added bbq sauce on the sandwich. Had Coleslaw on the side. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this recipe EXACTLY as written and I though it was very good. SumBrenda is right. This is a recipe for making a very moist pulled pork in your slow-cooker to which you later add the BBQ sauce or seasonings of your choice. It doesn't have a great deal of flavor on its own, but it isn't meant to. Everyone in my family added their own favorite sauce to the little piles on their plates. I liked it best with a vinegar-based Carolina sauce. Of the base recipe, I would probably have added a little more liquid smoke. I ended up putting a quart-sized bag of it in the freezer after a meal of it on the day I cooked it. I saved some of the leftover liquid from the slow-cooker and put it in the fridge to solidify any fat and skim it off. I then used a bit of this jus in the freezer bag to keep the pork from drying out. Since the finished pork doesn't have a strong flavor, I think you could also easily turn this from southern BBQ to something Mexican with green chiles and additional spices. I'll definitely do this again, especially since it'll soon be too cold outside to cook a lot on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States