Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Very good! Started it from frozen and cooked 10 hours on low. Because of it being frozen I missed out on the browning, but it's still great. I added some cider vinegar, just don't want pulled pork without it, and a splash of Worcestershire. Kept the rest of the seasonings the same. Only used 3 cups of liquid and that was fine. Served with Dave's Coleslaw (also on this site), BBQ sauce, and pickles. It had just the right amount of bite without being too sweet. I was drawn to this recipe to start with because of its lack of sugar, I often find pulled pork too sweet. Loved this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I was very unhappy with the results. I followed directions exactly but my family said it was pretty much tasteless until they covered the pork with BBQ sauce. The meat was tender, however. I will be removing this recipe from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is so good and moist! Adding bbq sauce makes it more flavorful and enjoyable to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I'm Lovin It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam McNeil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mooresville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I was a little worried about so much water but filled the crock pot anyway. I used heaping Tbs of cajun spice because we like spicy. I trimmed the fat and pulled the pork and by this time the day was done. I put enough of the juices from the crock pot to fill the container I had the pulled pork in, put it in the reefer and went to bed. I tried a few bites the next day and the pork seemed dry (even with the liquid overnight). Hmmmm...what to do? We were going to put our favorite BBQ sauce on it but by leaving the liquid in I knew it would be way too watery...sooooo, I poured out the liquid, put the pulled pork in a pot, heated it up and poured a bottle of our favorite BBQ sauce on it and let it heat through (Trader Joe's All Natural BBQ Sauce). Stirred it throughly and WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! It was the best darned pulled pork my husband and I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is an absolutely excellent recipe. I followed the advice of one poster and added some Cider Vinegar (just a cup to 3 cups of water), but I think it was too much. The next time I make this, I will cut back the vinegar to just a tablespoon and reduce the water to 3 cups. Otherwise, just great. I paired with bottled barbecue sauce on the side for those that wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is a great way to have easy leftovers. it allowed everone to have sandwiches when ever they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe. I had never made pulled pork before, so was a little nervous to try. It was super easy to make and came out super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Absolutely loved this! I put everything straight into the crock pot without browning. The shoulder roast was so tender that it fell into pieces after 5 hours when I tried to remove it. Will be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Found it to be a little spicy. Maybe my cajun seasoning was too strong. But otherwise great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States