Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I have made potato salad like this all my 50 years of cooking as my mother and grandmother before me. Must be a southern recipe only. I add just about l tblsp. cider vinegar and a tblspn of sugar when mixing. Seems to improve the flavor. Garnish top with sliced boiled eggs sprinkled with paparika. All the northerners in my family request this dish for all family get to gathers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Everyone has their preferences when it comes to potato salad...no celery...no eggs..extra pickles...warm..cold...etc. However - this is the basic recipe for a true Southern potato salad. Now I'll admit - I like it cold - not warm - that's just the way my family always ate it. Also - my Granny always tossed her potatoes with white vinegar right after they came out of the pot and drained (about 2 TBSP for each 2 Pounds of potatoes). Then waited for the potatoes to get just warm and tossed them with the dressing. I just don't think you can replace that soaked in vinegar flavor with ANY dressing and I love it that way. Also - unless you like "mashed potato" salad - ALWAYS mix everything but the potatoes in a separate bowl and then GENTLY FOLD it into the vinegar coated potatoes while they are warm. Seve it warm - or let it sit in the fridge overnight - YOUR CHOICE. Omit anything from this recipe that you DON't like in your potato salad - but the portions of all the ingredients are right on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dauphin Island, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I followed the advice in the review by Retired Cook. Gotta listen to a lady who's been making southern potato salad for 50 years! I used Yukon Gold potatoes for their buttery, creamy texture. We like our potato salad chilled so I boiled the potatoes, skin on and then refrigerated them overnight. The skin peels off easily after chilled. The next day I put it all together. I like to make my dressing in a separate bowl so it gets really combined before pouring it over the potatoes and celery. I added about 2 Tbsp. minced onion, a scant 1 Tbsp. cider vinegar and about 2 tsp. sugar to the dressing mixture. Only used about 2 Tbsp. sweet relish and less mustard. It'll need a good amount of salt and pepper too. If you are concerned about fat you can replace about half of the mayo with reduced fat sour cream and get a really good result. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I have been eating southern potato salad for sixty years and trying to perfect a recipe for at least forty. This one is it. No changes necessary. Season with salt and pepper as you will, it is the finest, home-style potato salad I have ever made. My kids, who hate onions, gobbled it down even with the red onions clearly visible. This is the only recipe I will ever use again. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Excellent potato salad! I like mine served cold and I omit the relish (personal preference). I add another egg, cut the mustard in half and use a mix of lite Miracle whip and lite mayo. Everyone has their own personal tastes when it comes to potato salads and this one is simple and a very good base to add or subtract whatever you like. Mix the dressing separately from the potatoes and eggs and then toss and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Made this last night - It was the best! What a great recipe - easy to make and add too. I followed the recipe except I doubled everything except the eggs, only used 6 eggs, added 2T. finly chopped onions, and about a 1T of dried dill- I also used peeled baking potatoes, boiled them till firm but knife went through, drained them, cut them in half, let them cool for a min, Then cut them in fairly good chunks, added the potatoes to the other things, lightly tossed and put in the freezer for 10 mins or so to chill the potatoes so they would not get mushy or break up. SIMPLY DELIGHTFUL - my family raved over it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAFNV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Pretty good - the first time I made it, it tasted perfect but I did not cook the potatoes long enough. I made another batch and cut the potatoes in half before boiling them, this time they got done but I think I used too much mustard. I was able to cut the taste a bit by adding a little sugar. A previous reviewer asked what size potatoes to use - I used a little less than 2.5 LBS (about 38 oz) and AA Large eggs. Another tip is to cool the potatoes before you cut them up or it will be mushy. Next time I will cut the mustard to 1 or 1.5 TBSpoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Very good! I peeled and cubed potatoes and nuked them in the microwave (put in a plastic bowl, covered potatoes with water, covered 3/4 of bowl with plastic wrap and set for 10 minutes, took out and drained in colander) instead of boiling. I used garlic powder and was very generous with the salt and pepper. I chopped one dill pickle as I was out of relish. This tastes even better after the flavors have a chance to meld together in the fridge. Thank you for taking the time to share with us Bobbye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Great recipe! I'm sure it would have been great just following it as it is, but I made some alterations and it turned out wonderful too. I left the skin on the potatoes...healthy & yummy. I added seasoned salt instead of salt and just dijon mustard instead of regular mustard and added an onion. I reduced the eggs by one. All yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Thank you for this recipe. I have been searching for this kind of potato salad...it is the best! It is so flavorful and creamy, I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States