Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
It was a hit in my house:-) I did follow the suggestions from retired cook, which were right on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is just the recipe I was looking for. A good potato salad needs JUST the right balance. I skip the celery & use half the eggs suggested(personal preferences). Goes great with the Parmesan Sage Pork Chops from this site. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tippy3983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
It was the first time I ever made potato salad and this recipe did not let me down. Followed it exactly. The garllic was a nice touch. I used red potatoes and left the skins on. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Washington Grove, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Although the flavor was wonderful, the eggs and potatoes were under cooked. I was specifically using the recipe for cook times and had to reboil eggs. I boiled for 5 minutes and let sit for 30 min, then cooled in cold water for easier peeling. The potatoes were very al dente and I had to rinse off dressing and boil for 15 more min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Made these for the fourth of July, only rating it a four, because I just could not add a 1/4 cup of sweet relish, I thought It would be to much, so I only added a couple of tsp. (personal preference) The sauce was spot on, not runny and not to dry. Thanks for a very nice potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I did not use celery stalk and did not add garlic, it was delicious. I also mostly used egg yolk. I'm not too much of an egg white fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
So, so delicious. I had southern potato salad for the first time at a restaurant nearby and I couldn't figure out what was so amazing about it. Just made it at home, estimating the ingredients since I had several pounds of potatoes to use up. Added white vinegar to freshly drained potatoes and tossed. Added sugar to the dressing, which I mixed with the celery, onions and eggs before folding into the potatoes. Also, the recipe didn't call for onions, but I added them. Used garlic salt instead of whole cloves. I had to chop dill pickles because I didn't have sweet relish. I think the sugar made up for the lack of sweetness from sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This potato salad is very similar to one I normally make and very good...nothing really to make it stand out above others though. I left out the relish as my family doesn't care for it. I may or may not make this again. Definitely worth a try for those who haven't done so yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Wonderful and easy to make potato salad recipe. I have made it twice now and followed the recipe with no changes and everyone loved it. It tasted good both served warm and straight out of the fridge a day later. I used my mother's homemade sweet relish which made it even better. It does not take 2hrs to make as it says above. It only takes about 20 minutes to whip it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Awesome!!! I made this potato salad for a BBQ last weekend that my family hosted. This salad was a hit! Love, love, loved it. There were just a couple modifications that I made...I used dill relish and miracle whip light with instead. I'm sure the way that the recipe is written is great too. I just had that on hand though. This is a definite saved recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States