Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
To start, our oldest son does not like potatoes in any form . . . that is until now. He loved this salad. I made a few tweaks per some of the other comments such as adding 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to the potatoes prior to mixing with the other ingredients. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar and not having celery, used a 1/2 teaspoon of celery salt. This is a sure winner, and one that is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Unfortunately, I had to throw the entire thing away because the potatoes weren't cooked enough! They were crunchy. Yuck. :-( 15 minutes just simply isn't going to cut it. I might try making it again and boiling them for 20-25 minutes. I think the flavor would've been good, if we'd have been able to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan  and Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
It's been about 4 years since I've made potato salad but my husband wanted some. I forgot how to make it so, i used this recipe. The recipe was great but I didn't use the celery cause I don't like it and I used more mayonnaise. All & all this recipe was great will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Pretty good and standard potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good. I took one of the reviewer's suggestions and added vinegar (3 T) over the cooked potatoes and let it soak up. First time I've made potato salad with no onion and I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I loved it my son help make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by et2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Love the flavor from the garlic & relish. I'm not a huge egg fan, so I generally leave out the hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
If you need a foolproof recipe...this is it. Made exactly as indicated, it will yield an attractive salad. (dont forget the paprika!) The taste is better than store bought. It reminds me of salad served at any given "where the locals eat" home style Southern diner. Which if that is the taste you are going for (sorta bland, non-offensive, and dry) you will love this recipe. I do not know any excellent Southern cooks who use relish in their potato salad. Onion, green pepper, and a creamy- smooth pastel yellow dressing are all I have ever eaten outside of a restaurant. I am not being harsh- I don't know how to make the "good stuff" either, which is what led me to try this recipe to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I like things simple yet oh so good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is the best potato salad I've ever made! The only changes I make are using red-skinned potatoes (leave skin on) and add a few tablespoons of finely diced onion. We prefer it cold. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States