Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
i really liked this. i like a good amount of dressing with my potato salad so i may make a recipe and a half of dressing next time. it is great warm. i liked the combo of sweet relish and garlic. this is a great recipe to adjust as i feel for the occasion; some dijon mustard- some cucumbers- add some onions instead of garlic- whatever the mood strikes me to do. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Very good! I peeled and cubed potatoes and nuked them in the microwave (put in a plastic bowl, covered potatoes with water, covered 3/4 of bowl with plastic wrap and set for 10 minutes, took out and drained in colander) instead of boiling. I used garlic powder and was very generous with the salt and pepper. I chopped one dill pickle as I was out of relish. This tastes even better after the flavors have a chance to meld together in the fridge. Thank you for taking the time to share with us Bobbye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
very good, served it cold not warm and used dutch yellow potatoes. DH felt it was not flavorful enough so i may add a few things next time, but i thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This recipe was out of site! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Just as good as my Aunt Judy's! Really loved it. Had it with our 4th of July dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Mmmmm...I'm from southern Louisiana, and this was just like my daddy's! (and I don't give that compliment out too often) I used two stalks of celery and chopped them in a food processor. Also, I forgot about the salt I put in the boiling water for the potatoes, and stubbed my toe on the cajun seasoning (in place of "salt and pepper to taste") as a result. Eh well...a night in the fridge and that problem was solved! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
The best potato salad ever! Served warm, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKABA99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I just made this potato salad I thought It was really good. I halved the mustard but may will try to use all the mustard next time. Few simple ingredients fantastic potato salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was so good! I have never had any luck with potato salad, but this was easy and so delicious. I did leave out the celery and made a little extra of the mayo mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I personally rather have potato salad cooled instead, but this was easy and delicous! It would taste good with a little bit of paprika in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States