Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Awesome!!! I made this potato salad for a BBQ last weekend that my family hosted. This salad was a hit! Love, love, loved it. There were just a couple modifications that I made...I used dill relish and miracle whip light with instead. I'm sure the way that the recipe is written is great too. I just had that on hand though. This is a definite saved recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Really tasty! I also drizzle some vinegar over the hot potatoes and add chopped onion and pickles. Adds a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is the best potato salad I've made in years. Maybe it has been too long since I've had home made potato salad, but it took me back. The best compliment I got was when my girlfriend said it tasted just like her grandmother's potato salad. I'm pretty new to cooking so got behind while I was trying to peel the potatoes/eggs and cook my main dish at the same time. Lesson learned, prep first and it'll be smooth sailing. Also, I think you have to use Duke's mayo. Everyone I've talked to from the South says that's what they use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I used about 9 russet potatoes, chopped them up into little pieces then boiled in salted water until firm. Chopped up half red onion, 2 stalks celery, one jalapeno while the potatoes were cooking. drained the potatoes, salted em again, threw in some white vinegar and the vegetables then just added mayo, dijon/ horseradish mustard, celery seed, pepper and garlic powder. oh and 5 boiled eggs. everyone like it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
love this potato :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious! I used olive oil mayo and followed the suggestion to add the cider vinegar and sugar. I've never had this style potato salad and we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is awesome potato salad. I also did the cider vinegar/sugar poured over the hot potatoes will they were draining, I used a magic bullet to mix the mayo, relish, garlic, mustard, and I added a few slices of dill pickles. Used 5 eggs, salt and pepper, yukon gold potaoes peeled and chopped before boiling, nothing else and it is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe was easy and the measurements were perfect! Would definitely make again. I would either omit the celery or fun through the food processer. I didn't like biting into pieces of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Usually I try different things with any recipe I find. This is perfect just as it is. When you have German and Swiss/German people asking you for the recipe well, that says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTCOOKINSWITZERLAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States