Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was alright. I've tried many potato salad recipes on here, and my all-time favorite is Kaye Lynn's World's Best Potato Salad. It is by FAR the best potato salad in the world. :) This was way too eggy for my liking. While I LOVE eggs in my potato salad, they were just a bit overkill here (like eating a big bowl of deviled eggs). This was also a tad bland and a bit too savory for my liking, even after adding a couple tablespoons of vinegar to my potatoes as suggested by another reviewer. I guess I'm a sucker for sweeter, tangier potato salads, so I guess I'll stick with those from now on. Thanks anyways, SONGLADY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very good. My family liked it. Was easy to make. I added some sweet onion. More mayo. Thanks for your recipe. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic! You're safe following this recipe to the tee. This Southern girl thinks it's wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debruttenbur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Great tater salad! Almost good as moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Definitely needs less mustard and relish, perhaps a little sugar. Needs to blend for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great basic recipe! I add chopped green onion and apple cider vinegar and omit the mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodskday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This recipe was so good it is just so delicious I left the garlic out and it tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for minus the garlic and the celery just as a personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Doubled recipe for a crowd, using 6-8 med sized russets (peeled/cut/boiled until tender 10min). 3 stalks celery, 1/3 cup diced dill pickles, 2 Tbl diced sweet onions. Made sauce in two batches, with mods: + 1Tbl cider vinegar scant, + 1 tsp sugar, using 1 T mustard. First batch, splash of dill pickle juice. Mix in batch one with veggies, then fold in potatoes. Mix in second batch of sauce, with eye on consistency. Add in chopped eggs. Chill, keep remainder of any sauce to fold in, if salad is a little dry when time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1 T. cider vinegar and 2 tsp sugar(I used splenda). Also added a vadelia onion. Husband deemed it very good. Will certainly make again with these adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States