Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good Recipe. I omitted the celery, used garlic powder and halved the mustard. The potatoes needed more cooking time and I also cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Having a grandmother from the south who always cooked from scratch and made the most heavenly potato salad, I've always ascribed to using mayonnaise instead of salad dressing too; but serving it cold, as mayonnaise and eggs do not last long warm in a big buffet, which is how our family always served during our family reunions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margot Huff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at making potato salad and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskm0307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tasted good, but personally I would double the dressing next time. There just wasn't even close to enough for my tastes. I used average sized potatoes. Also, I did add a couple tablespoons of vinegar to the chopped potatoes after they were done cooking. I think it improved the taste. I also think closer to 20-22 minutes boiling the potatoes would be sufficient, because after only 15 minutes they were still not done all the way. Lastly I added a bit of chopped onion to the salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Have made this recipe for years EXCEPT had never heard of adding the vinegar - this was amazing! Makes my mouth water just thinking about it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this the day before and served it cold & everyone loved it. I didn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this for a church potluck. None left by the time my father-in-law went up for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Loved it warm! Used chopped dill pickles instead of sweet, and added 1 T dill pickle juice for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Odessa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made a few changes to the recipe: i didn't have enough eggs in my house, so i only used 3. I also didn't use celery or relish ( the relish by choice, and the celery because again, i didn't have any in my house!) I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. When i mixed it all up it seemed kind of dry so i added a bit more mayo. Overall the flavor was very good, i'm not sure why it seemed so dry but it was better once i added more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Really, really good! Will be my new go-to potato salad. Only gave 4-stars since I think it may need one little tweak. We like lots of spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States