Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe was good. We always add extra mayo to any potato salad. It was much better the next day after it sat overnight.We only used 2 eggs and used half the mustard and relish and doubled the mayo.I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this recipe. The only changes that I made was leaving out the celery and garlic. Just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
In all my years (I'm a senior citizen) I have never even heard of serving warm potato salad. Maybe because all my life I've lived in Florida where we like our sides cold on a warm afternoon or evening. I enjoyed this potato salad and it tastes very similar to the 'old fashioned' recipe we enjoyed many years ago. Needless to say I prefer it cold. I added a little more mustard and a touch of vinegar which is a matter of personal taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOHNCATES2003
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I tried this Southern Potato Salad as per the recipe given but I added 1/2 a stick of unsalted butter, just enough milk to give it the consistency of mashed potatoes, about 1 Tablespoon of French's yellow mustard and I used Kraft Miracle Whip instead of regular mayonnaise. I used real sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Garnished with paprika used sparingly (just enough for coloring) and 5 sprigs of fresh celery leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOHNCATES2003

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eufaula, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Too much mustard for me. Boyfriend really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good basic recipe..sometimes we serve it warm and sometimes cold...either way very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good Recipe. I omitted the celery, used garlic powder and halved the mustard. The potatoes needed more cooking time and I also cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Having a grandmother from the south who always cooked from scratch and made the most heavenly potato salad, I've always ascribed to using mayonnaise instead of salad dressing too; but serving it cold, as mayonnaise and eggs do not last long warm in a big buffet, which is how our family always served during our family reunions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margot Huff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at making potato salad and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskm0307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tasted good, but personally I would double the dressing next time. There just wasn't even close to enough for my tastes. I used average sized potatoes. Also, I did add a couple tablespoons of vinegar to the chopped potatoes after they were done cooking. I think it improved the taste. I also think closer to 20-22 minutes boiling the potatoes would be sufficient, because after only 15 minutes they were still not done all the way. Lastly I added a bit of chopped onion to the salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States