Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was alright. I've tried many potato salad recipes on here, and my all-time favorite is Kaye Lynn's World's Best Potato Salad. It is by FAR the best potato salad I've ever tasted. This was far too eggy for my liking. Don't get me wrong.... I LOVE eggs in my potato salad, but they were a bit overkill here - like eating a deviled egg in every bite. This was also a tad bland and a bit too savory tasting for my liking, even after adding a couple tablespoons of vinegar to my potatoes as suggested by another reviewer. I guess I'm a sucker for sweeter potato salads, so I'll stick with those from now on. Thanks anyways, SONGLADY. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very good. My family liked it. Was easy to make. I added some sweet onion. More mayo. Thanks for your recipe. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic! You're safe following this recipe to the tee. This Southern girl thinks it's wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debruttenbur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Great tater salad! Almost good as moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was a very good rendition of classic potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Definitely needs less mustard and relish, perhaps a little sugar. Needs to blend for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great basic recipe! I add chopped green onion and apple cider vinegar and omit the mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodskday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This recipe was so good it is just so delicious I left the garlic out and it tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for minus the garlic and the celery just as a personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Doubled recipe for a crowd, using 6-8 med sized russets (peeled/cut/boiled until tender 10min). 3 stalks celery, 1/3 cup diced dill pickles, 2 Tbl diced sweet onions. Made sauce in two batches, with mods: + 1Tbl cider vinegar scant, + 1 tsp sugar, using 1 T mustard. First batch, splash of dill pickle juice. Mix in batch one with veggies, then fold in potatoes. Mix in second batch of sauce, with eye on consistency. Add in chopped eggs. Chill, keep remainder of any sauce to fold in, if salad is a little dry when time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States