Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Too much mustard for me. Boyfriend really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good basic recipe..sometimes we serve it warm and sometimes cold...either way very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good Recipe. I omitted the celery, used garlic powder and halved the mustard. The potatoes needed more cooking time and I also cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Having a grandmother from the south who always cooked from scratch and made the most heavenly potato salad, I've always ascribed to using mayonnaise instead of salad dressing too; but serving it cold, as mayonnaise and eggs do not last long warm in a big buffet, which is how our family always served during our family reunions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margot Huff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at making potato salad and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskm0307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tasted good, but personally I would double the dressing next time. There just wasn't even close to enough for my tastes. I used average sized potatoes. Also, I did add a couple tablespoons of vinegar to the chopped potatoes after they were done cooking. I think it improved the taste. I also think closer to 20-22 minutes boiling the potatoes would be sufficient, because after only 15 minutes they were still not done all the way. Lastly I added a bit of chopped onion to the salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Have made this recipe for years EXCEPT had never heard of adding the vinegar - this was amazing! Makes my mouth water just thinking about it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this the day before and served it cold & everyone loved it. I didn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this for a church potluck. None left by the time my father-in-law went up for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Loved it warm! Used chopped dill pickles instead of sweet, and added 1 T dill pickle juice for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Odessa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States