Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I've made this so many times. The family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a wonderful potato salad recipe. My mom always made hers just like this while I was growing up. I now make it minus the celery and relish (picky kids.) Still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was a really good base for potato salad dressing. I made not quite a double batch using about a cup of mayo and half cup of relish. Also I used more celery (about 2 stalks), some very finely grated carrot (1 big one), and spicy brown mustard instead of just the regular ol' yellow stuff. I thought it was a little bit too sweet so I added about a teaspoon of ground New Mexico chili powder and 1 finely diced Thai chili. It turned out great. Tried it served warm as the recipe suggested but I liked it better after it was refrigerated for a few hours as the flavors had more time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlincoln75
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this over the weekend for my daughters birthday party. I used the recipe as is except for adding a few chopped scallions (I love that pepper taste they add) and garnished it with a sprinkling of paprika and parsley. It was a big hit with a group of relatively picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe was good. We always add extra mayo to any potato salad. It was much better the next day after it sat overnight.We only used 2 eggs and used half the mustard and relish and doubled the mayo.I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this recipe. The only changes that I made was leaving out the celery and garlic. Just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
In all my years (I'm a senior citizen) I have never even heard of serving warm potato salad. Maybe because all my life I've lived in Florida where we like our sides cold on a warm afternoon or evening. I enjoyed this potato salad and it tastes very similar to the 'old fashioned' recipe we enjoyed many years ago. Needless to say I prefer it cold. I added a little more mustard and a touch of vinegar which is a matter of personal taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOHNCATES2003
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I tried this Southern Potato Salad as per the recipe given but I added 1/2 a stick of unsalted butter, just enough milk to give it the consistency of mashed potatoes, about 1 Tablespoon of French's yellow mustard and I used Kraft Miracle Whip instead of regular mayonnaise. I used real sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Garnished with paprika used sparingly (just enough for coloring) and 5 sprigs of fresh celery leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOHNCATES2003

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eufaula, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Too much mustard for me. Boyfriend really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good basic recipe..sometimes we serve it warm and sometimes cold...either way very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States