Southern Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This was great! I added some apple cider vinegar, dill, and forgot the garlic. I used 6 small potatoes, which was just about 2 pounds. I think the recipe should specify that but it's okay. I boiled my potatoes for 15 minutes, drained them and left them in the colander with a clean rag over them to let them continue to cook while I made the dressing. I did not peel them because I like the added texture of the peel left on. I always like to dress my potato salad while it is still warm so the potatoes can absorb the dressing. I also added some extra salt and pepper since potatoes can usually handle a lot of seasoning. This turned out fantastic! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I really enjoyed this and I only made a couple of small changes. Left out the celery and added apple cider vinegar and a little sugar. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
This was a perfect recipe. Not hard to make and the taste of it was on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I've made this so many times. The family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a wonderful potato salad recipe. My mom always made hers just like this while I was growing up. I now make it minus the celery and relish (picky kids.) Still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was a really good base for potato salad dressing. I made not quite a double batch using about a cup of mayo and half cup of relish. Also I used more celery (about 2 stalks), some very finely grated carrot (1 big one), and spicy brown mustard instead of just the regular ol' yellow stuff. I thought it was a little bit too sweet so I added about a teaspoon of ground New Mexico chili powder and 1 finely diced Thai chili. It turned out great. Tried it served warm as the recipe suggested but I liked it better after it was refrigerated for a few hours as the flavors had more time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlincoln75
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this over the weekend for my daughters birthday party. I used the recipe as is except for adding a few chopped scallions (I love that pepper taste they add) and garnished it with a sprinkling of paprika and parsley. It was a big hit with a group of relatively picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe was good. We always add extra mayo to any potato salad. It was much better the next day after it sat overnight.We only used 2 eggs and used half the mustard and relish and doubled the mayo.I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this recipe. The only changes that I made was leaving out the celery and garlic. Just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
In all my years (I'm a senior citizen) I have never even heard of serving warm potato salad. Maybe because all my life I've lived in Florida where we like our sides cold on a warm afternoon or evening. I enjoyed this potato salad and it tastes very similar to the 'old fashioned' recipe we enjoyed many years ago. Needless to say I prefer it cold. I added a little more mustard and a touch of vinegar which is a matter of personal taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States