Southern Pimento Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My husband was raised in the south but never liked his mothers Pimento Cheese. My sons however asked for it every time we visited. I saw this recipe with the extra added kick and thought I might get my husbands approval for an easy appetizer. He loved it. It is just an easy dish to go along with the southern flair. We stuffed celery and had it with wheat thin wafers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Hey ya'll! Thanks for all the great reviews--I am so flattered! Thanks, also, for not making the recipe completely different than written and then stating how you don't like it. I don't understand that. Thanks again. Don't forget to use EXTRA-SHARP cheddar cheese! **UPDATE 6/24/2011** Thanks to Yakaty for suggesting the addition of worchestershire and mustard. It makes this even better IMO! Thanks again to all for the reviews! PS If it ain't Duke's, it ain't mayo! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENREYNEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I had already been making this dip with one difference. In the past, I've made it with bacon so when I saw this recipe, I thought it was funny how similar it was to my dip. So, I followed your measurements and made it your way plus added chopped bacon for my bunko group this passed weekend. It was a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Used velveeta instead of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Nice and creamy, and we liked the punchy seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was fabulous! i loved the extra kick of the cayenne pepper. Made it as a test this time but will be making it again for social events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Not a big fan of pimiento cheese, but this is the bomb! Nothing like the stuff you buy from the grocery stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calera, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Love it as is. Just as an experiment, I added three shakes of worchestershire and 3 shakes of dill weed. Nice added touch if you like dill. Otherwise, excellent as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This recipe quickly became a family favorite! I chop the pimento, and I like it a little hotter, so I add an extra jalapeno pepper (I have also used Hungarian hot wax peppers). If I don't have any hot peppers on hand, I substitute ~ 1/2 tsp. Tabasco sauce. The one change I made is to add 1-1 1/2 Tbs. Worchestershire sauce, because we like the additional flavor. We eat it on Triscuit, on celery, as a sandwich spread (it's great on thick slices of Italian bread), and instead of regular cheese on hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Love love love love. I made this for the second time tonight. I have always loved good pim cheese, but unfortunately so much is not at all good. I like it chunky (vs the "cooked" style that uses processed cheese. I actually love processed cheese, but not for pimento cheese!) and I'd never had it with jalepenos before making it myself with this recipe, even though I've lived in the South my whole life! The only real change I made was to only put about half the amount of cream cheese the recipe calls for, 4 oz. But I'm not the biggest cream cheese fan--I'm sure it's great as is. THANK YOU for this recipe!! It will be a family staple from now on, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States