Southern Pimento Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Hey ya'll! Thanks for all the great reviews--I am so flattered! Thanks, also, for not making the recipe completely different than written and then stating how you don't like it. I don't understand that. Thanks again. Don't forget to use EXTRA-SHARP cheddar cheese! **UPDATE 6/24/2011** Thanks to Yakaty for suggesting the addition of worchestershire and mustard. It makes this even better IMO! Thanks again to all for the reviews! PS If it ain't Duke's, it ain't mayo! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENREYNEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was without a doubt the best pimento cheese I've ever had! I omitted the jalapenos, and bumped up the cayenne a bit since I like my pimento cheese with a bit of a bite to it. Other than that, this recipe is flawless. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is exactly the way I've always made Pimento Cheese (minus the jalepeno). I took some to work once and 4 people told me it was the best they've ever had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
First time trying this and I liked the concept. True to form, I increased the cayenne just a little for a longer finish, added a tad of dry mustard, and some worcestershire sauce in the spirit of Beer Cheese soup. This recipe didn't need it from my tasting but it fit my taste. Time to give it to the troops to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is really good. A gourmet grocery store by my house used to sell pimento cheese in a jar that was expensive. They used to sample it and it was so good. I had been looking for a recipe to duplicate it and this is very close. I left out the optional ingredients and I didn't have pimentos but I had some small diced red peppers and used that. I made 1/2 recipe and it made about a cup and a half. The only thing that seemed to be missing was the sharper taste of the spread the store sampled and then I realized that the recipe suggested "extra-sharp cheddar" so I would use that specifically. The cheese should also not be pre-shredded, both are important for the flavor and texture. This will be great with crackers or to make grilled cheese out of this week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I was raised in the south and just moved to Vegas four years ago. I had no idea that pimento cheese was unheard of out here, so I had to make my own! As is, the recipe is pretty good. I'm gonna' mess with it later to try and get a bigger kick into it. I put it in the fridge over night, dumped it on a cheese platter, and served with Triscuits. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. This is phenomenal! After eating the store bought all my life, I knew there had to be something better than that . I found a guy at a farmer's market who sells it homemade but he was charging $8 for a tiny container. After much griping from the hubby about spending that much on pimento cheese every week, I finally decided to try it myself & I am so glad I did. This blows farmer's market guy out of the water. The 1 tiny change I made was that I just used a hand mixer to mix the cream cheese, Mayo & spices. I folded in the grated cheese, jalapeno, & pimentos so it would maintain a chunky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Started making this POSITIVE I had a jar of pimentos in the pantry...sadly, no. This was fabulous w/out them...family gobbled it up...so can only imagine how great it will be when made w/pimentos! Great recipe. UPDATE: Made this for friends visiting from Georgia...they said it was better than anything their moms ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My husband was raised in the south but never liked his mothers Pimento Cheese. My sons however asked for it every time we visited. I saw this recipe with the extra added kick and thought I might get my husbands approval for an easy appetizer. He loved it. It is just an easy dish to go along with the southern flair. We stuffed celery and had it with wheat thin wafers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This stuff is fabulous! I have had people at work bring the ingredients to me and ask me to make it for them. No fewer than half a dozen have asked for the recipe. Once I took some in (had about half of it left from making it at home) and one of the other ladies ate the rest of the bowl by herself before the shift was over! It goes fast because it's delicious! Thanks for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States