Southern Pimento Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This has become a staple in our refrigerator, I've probably made this recipe at least 100x. Everyone LOVES it!! It's not the goopy, sloppy store bought pimento cheese, this is delicious. I tweak the basic recipe very little, and it's only for personal preference not to improve. My husband prefers dried chopped onions rather than onion powder. It gives a slight crunch. I use Cracker Barrel 2% milk extra sharp cheddar cheese and Harris Teeter brand Neufachel instead of cream cheese. It saves a bit on the fat and calories and gives a really creamy pimento cheese. I get more raves and compliments using the 2% Cracker Barrel and Neufachel. I've substituted low fat Mayo and olive oil mayo- just not the same taste. Hellman's real Mayo with the navy blue lid is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Amazing pimento cheese! Loved it exactly as is, would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Spencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Eating this on celery fresh out of the bowl as I type. Great easy recipe. I did add the Worcestershire, spicy brown mustard and pickled jalapenos. I also used chipotle powder as I prefer that flavor. I made half a recipe and only measured the cheese. I also used a mix of salad dressing and sour cream. Not a big fan of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Would recommend cutting the recipe in half as it makes A TON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Without a doubt the best pimento cheese spread I have ever had or made! I even spread it on a burger and had the best cheese burger ever! Made it just like the recipe but without the jalapeno (didn't have one on hand) and I don't think it could be any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Very good, though I only had 6 ounces of cream cheese and used more shredded cheese. However, I found that the cream cheese made the spread slightly too thick and rich when served cold. It did melt to a beautiful texture warm. When making this again I would cut the cream cheese more if I were planning on serving it cold and keep it at 6oz for hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
yummy! my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kiser Holland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I followed the directions, minus the jalapeño and it turned out wonderful. Next time I'll try adding the mustard and worchestershire . Hope I can keep my hands of it until tomorrow while we watch the Masters.i grew up in Georgia and ate pimento cheese on and off, I'm originally from New Jersey and my mom just never made it. But I tried some from publix and was amazed at how fantastic it was and felt likei had been missing out on it. I also figured I'd make it myself since it was pretty simple ingredients. This recipe is fantastic. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fvb21687

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Really really good. I didn't have super sharp I just had regular sharp so I subbed about 3/4 of a cup cheddar for shredded queso blanco velveeta so it would have the sharp it needed. I'm not a pimento cheese lover by any means but this stuff is pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States