Southern Pimento Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent! Especially when considering that I "HATED" pimento cheese my entire life. I never knew it tasted like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
this is awesome just the way it is. everyone loves it. I sometimes just buy the jalapeno Philadelphia cream cheese and omit the real jalapeno. but otherwise perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Finally...this is the version I have made for a long time but lost due to a fire...my memory would not recall it and I was going nuts looking for it since it has cream cheese. Unfortunately, Duke's is up to nearly six bucks a jar here so it will have to do with Hellmans...almost as good. The only thing I do differently is to only add one of the spicy elements, either the cayenne or the jalapeno but not both. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I always follow the recipe exactly when I am trying a new one. We loved this one. My husband said it was the best pimento cheese he had ever eaten. Ordib
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nada Horn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I have made this many times for my family! I have used the optional amount of cayenne instead of the jalapeño. This time there was no cayenne in the pantry. I used a 1/2 tsp. of sugar instead! It came out DELICIOUS! It tastes like many Southern pimento cheeses I have had! Try it! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Okay, only gonna say this once. "I HATE YOU" There I said it, I admit defeat. I thought MY homemade pimento cheese was the best BUT I made this tonight and you win hands down. The ONLY thing I did differently was added a bit more cayenne pepper. We like that extra little kick. Thank you for sharing. I guess now I have a NEW recipe. Will retire mine sadly, but it's okay. I will be fine and thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huzzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Richards
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is delicious and easy! I made it exactly as the recipe states (no jalapeño) and my husband and neighbors love it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Excellent recipe! I used two 4-ounce jars of pimiento as well as an additional two ounces of sharp cheddar cheese. We loved the addition of jalapeno peppers and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
My husband loved it. he said it was cheekily it was like wine - had more complex flavors than he was expecting. My teenage daughter gave it a thumbs up and said it was nothing like the stuff we buy in a tub at the store. The only change I made was necessary - I shredded some colby jack into it to have enough cheese. Maybe 3 oz. Other than that no changes. did not see the need. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Made this with the optional jalapeno (FRESH) and cayanne and added 1/4 tsp dried mustard and 1/4 tsp Worcestershire as others who have rated this recipe had recommended. As someone who has never tasted pimento cheese, I can say that I enjoyed it on wheat thin crackers, but it was nothing spectacular as everyone has raved. I think it needs MORE KICK. I let it refrigerate overnight before eating it... I will experiment next time. UPDATE: This time I used soft cream cheese and it didn't harden so much in the refrigerator and remained spreadable. I also added a couple dashes of Franks pepper sauce and added in 2 more oz pimentos. You can never have too many pimentos. This recipe is VERY FLEXIBLE served cool/cold on crackers. 5 stars with your own touches!! UPDATE: 2 days later, I used some of this to make a grilled cheese sandwich as so many have recommended. YUCK!!! The cream cheese melts to a drippy mess, I would never serve this as a grilled cheese sandwich. This is strictly an unformed cheese ball people!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States