Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
i JUST HAD TO ADD A REVIEW AFTER THE RAVE REVIEWS I GOT FROM THE PIE! mY HUSBAND TOOK ONE TO WORK AND HIS CO WORKERS SAID IT WAS THE BEST! I DO REC. THE DEEP DISH-I ALSO ADDED MORE PECANS AND PLACED PECAN HALVES AROUND THE EDGES JUST TO MAKE IT DIFFERENT FROM THE OTHER PIES. I AM A BEGIINER AND THIS WAS SOOO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan2162

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hurley, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I Love this pie, I would not change anything about it. This is the first pecan pie I have ever made, I will not be buying pecan pies anymore. Great Recipe. It takes more than an hour baking time for the filling to set just keep baking it and check to see when the middle does not jiggle very much, and cover the pie with foil so it won't burn the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I have made this pie twice already and the reviews have been fantastic!! It is delicious and not at all runny. I suggest cooking it a few extra minutes, but otherwise I would not change a thing! I will make this for year's to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My family is a tough critic and pecan pie is my father's favorite. I really wanted this to turn out perfectly and it did! I used a short cut though. ;) I used a Pillsbury pie crust and it work beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
A few too many pecans for my taste. I noticed as I was stirring the ingredients, that it is the exact same recipe as on the back of the Karo bottle, with an additional 1/2 cup of pecans. So, next time, I'll leave out the additional 1/2 cup. Also, if you use a frozen pie crust, as I did, make sure it's a deep dish. I poured the filling into a regular pie shell and it overflowed everywhere. Also, I used Splenda in place of white sugar and it cooked up and tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
So tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
i always add a shot or so of maker's mark or jack daniels to any pecan pie, and this one is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Delicious! Delicious! Even good when you miss a few ingredients, substitute pecans if you'd like and it will still come out delicious. A great recipe. Just remember to let it sit for a few hours before cutting it, it will settle. Also, wait until the center does not jiggle before removing from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
The filling tasted good, but it was so soupy. I'm not sure why it didn't set up. It definitely baked long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I used this recipe to bake my first pecan pie. Both times it turned out great. The second time I even left out half the butter by mistake and it still was good. Try this one you will like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States