Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This came out really yummy! I just wish the directions had been a bit more clear for an unexperienced piemaker like myself - for example, I had to look up on google how to tell when it was ready to come out of the oven, and it took about 10 minutes longer than stated here. I also had too much filling for my pie crust - a deep dish pie plate would probably work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I loved this pie. I followed the other reviews and used 1/2 cup dark corn syrup and 1/2 cup light corn syrup and everyone raved about it, and it was SO SIMPLE to make. This is a keeper for sure. Note: I've made this numerous times now and I've noticed when I use 'large' sized eggs the center comes out very runny. So make sure you use regular sized eggs, or else it wont turn out in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarathenerd
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Delicious! All of my friends loved it. Very rich, though, and I would only recommend this to those whom have never made the comment "too sweet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made this for the first time and it got RAVE reviews! It was so easy to make and the only thing I changed, based on another review, was added 1 TBSP. of vanilla. I used 1-1/2 cups of pecans and thought that was plenty. I covered just the edges of the pie crust for the first 45 minutes and then removed the foil and the crust browned nicely. I also didn't remove it from the oven until the middle of the pie didn't "jiggle" anymore and it was perfect. Will make another one today for my Dad's birthday party tomorrow. My family LOVED it and wants more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent pie! Just like my Grandma made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Outstanding recipe in every way. I thought it needed more Pecans so I added an extra 1/2-1c...this was a mistake, because they mostly float to the top, and too many means that some get dry and overcooked, so stick to the recipe, no need to add more. I will make this again, and next time make my own crust, this is far too good to be wasted on a lazy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
my husband has ate alot of pecan pie in his life and he declares this one the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Easy ans wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
My family & friends beg me to make this over and over. The only things I added were an additional 1/2 cup pecans and my secret ingredient - 1 tbsp Jack Daniels! Everyone loves that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is a good basic recipe for pecan pie - I've used it for years. For the absolute best flavor, 1/4 cup dark corn syrup and 3/4 cup light corn syrup. Also, I add about 1 tablesp of vanilla. I received the ultimate southern compliment for my version "tastes better than grandma's"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States