Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the one my mother passed down. I now realize that it is the KARO syrup recipe but it is still the way to go. After making many of these pies I have a few suggestions. Use only KARO or other top of the line syrups. Also bring all ingredients to room temperature before mixing. Do not over mix or use electric mixer; this tends to make the pie runny. Another tip - use normal size eggs. Extra large eggs will keep it from setting up. I shield the crust edges for the first 40 minutes, remove for the last 15 minutes. This keeps the crust from becoming too dark before pie is ready. One last thing, I bake mine exactly 55 minutes! No more, no less. I have found this is perfect for my oven which is calibrated correctly. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
yup - everyone says it was good and it was. Used brown sugar instead of white because I always do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Tasted very good...make sure you check your pie before time given . My pie crust got burned . Other than that pretty basic recipe, and does not take long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I did a big Southern dinner with my family and this was a hit. every one said it was a perfect way to end the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This pie turned out absolutely perfect!! I followed the recipe exactly and arranged the pecan on the pie in a circle pattern. It was to die for!!! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Best Pecan pie ever. It stays together when you cut it instead of running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
DARK corn syrup makes any pecan pie better! Tried and true by my deceased mother-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Solomon, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! SUPER EASY TO MAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gordon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Used light corn syrup. This came out too sweet for us. Made two pecan pies for Christmas dinner, this one and another. The other one "won." The difference may have been that I used light corn in this one and dark corn syrup in the other one. Liked the richness of the dark corn syrup better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trisha2774
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So easy to make and turned out wonderful. The pecans tasted like candied pecans delicious! My family said it was the best pecan pie they ever had. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha2774

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States