Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Ok once again a southern woman talking. That said I loved this pie !!!! what I loved about it was that it's not tooth ache sweet, it is just right. I used light and dark corn syrup and I think that is what made the difference in the sweetness. Thanks Nikki for a great recipe it will be the only pecan pie I make and will pass it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This pie was delicious. Like most of us, I used 1/2 C each of light and dark corn syrup. However, my oven runs a little low so I baked this for more than an hour in all, and it was still barely set. To prevent the crust from getting too brown, fold strips of aluminum foil over the edges while the pie bakes. A reliable, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
we used the basic flaky pie crust, and let me tell you.....it ruined our diet!!! we had to give some away to save ourselves from oblivion! we changed nothing about the recipe, absolutely delicious, the best simple pecan pie i have ever had, promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
YUM! My husband said this was the best pecan pie he'd ever had! I had to cook mine about 15min longer. I also used 1/2 dark syrup and 1/2 light syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I loved this pie. I followed the other reviews and used 1/2 cup dark corn syrup and 1/2 cup light corn syrup and everyone raved about it, and it was SO SIMPLE to make. This is a keeper for sure. Note: I've made this numerous times now and I've noticed when I use 'large' sized eggs the center comes out very runny. So make sure you use regular sized eggs, or else it wont turn out in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving 2001, it was a *HIT*! Couldn't have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I've tried many different pecan pie recipes, but this is the one I've decided to stick to. I've baked it for the last 3 years and still like it as much as the first day (as my friends do). I usually add 1 tsp orange extract, 1/2 tsp rum extract and reduce pecans to 1 cup. The best one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
The filling tasted good, but it was so soupy. I'm not sure why it didn't set up. It definitely baked long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the one my mother passed down. I now realize that it is the KARO syrup recipe but it is still the way to go. After making many of these pies I have a few suggestions. Use only KARO or other top of the line syrups. Also bring all ingredients to room temperature before mixing. Do not over mix or use electric mixer; this tends to make the pie runny. Another tip - use normal size eggs. Extra large eggs will keep it from setting up. I shield the crust edges for the first 40 minutes, remove for the last 15 minutes. This keeps the crust from becoming too dark before pie is ready. One last thing, I bake mine exactly 55 minutes! No more, no less. I have found this is perfect for my oven which is calibrated correctly. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is a good basic recipe for pecan pie - I've used it for years. For the absolute best flavor, 1/4 cup dark corn syrup and 3/4 cup light corn syrup. Also, I add about 1 tablesp of vanilla. I received the ultimate southern compliment for my version "tastes better than grandma's"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States