Southern Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I Made homemade pie crust, because, I live in the south, I went to the corner and bought some boiled peanuts, to avoid what others said about the peanuts getting in the way. cooked in the middle of the oven, and it turned out wonderful! yummy. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!! And I don't even like Peanut Butter! We made it for Thanksgiving dinner and the kids went nuts over it - I had to make another! This time I tried it without the peanuts and it was still delicious! Definitely will settle any sweet tooth! I recommend a nice glass of milk with it - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Channon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Man, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Oh good, someone else knows the *right* way to make peanut butter pie! Nearly identical to how my grandmother always made it back in Texas. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I wanted to use the 8 Keebler mini graham cracker shells I had on hand for this. After reading some reviews complaining about the pies being runny, I changed the ingredients to: 1/2 cup Splenda; 1/2 cup corn syrup - only had light on hand, so used it; 1/2 cup extra crunchy peanut butter; 2 eggs; 1 tsp vanilla; and the rest of the peanuts I had on hand. As both the peanut butter and the nuts were salted, I omitted the salt. They were cooked to perfection in about 35 minutes (probably because of the smaller crusts). The recipe thus became almost exactly my pecan tart recipe, minus the butter and pecans and plus the peanut butter and peanuts! Thanks for sharing this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Just like the peanut butter pie in high school!! I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Wow, this was easy and good. I used light corn syrup + a little molasses instead of the dark syrup. I think the whole peanuts are fine, I used a serrated knife and sawed through them, and the slices cut nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Loved it! It was very good. I made per instructions this time, but may substitute the corn syrup for molasses next time. For those who said the filling never set- this is a custard pie, like pumpkin or pecan, bake until the filling is set except for a little jiggle in the middle. You will probably need to cover the crust with tin foil to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Great recipe but needs a little tweaking! Got this recipe from a fellow at the fish camp who made one of these pies at least once a week. I just made it and it is NOT runny. I baked it for only 40 minutes as I can remember how his pies looked and they were not overly brown on top. He does let his sit a couple of hours before cutting. For those of you who tried it and gave up on it, TRY IT ONE MORE TIME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This wasn't what I was expecting. It reminded me more of a pecan pie only this had peanuts. It is very good with some whipped cream but it is also very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Tastes more like peanut brittle pie than a chiffon peanut butter pie. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States