Southern Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Tastes more like peanut brittle pie than a chiffon peanut butter pie. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Tasty but did not set. I may have underbaked, but the crust was brown, and filling was quite liquid (syrupy). After sitting overnight it would come out in a nice slice without leaking, but there was still a huge puddle of filling in the pie dish. It is like a peanut butter version of shoo fly pie - the peanut butter taste is there so you won't be disappointed, but people who don't like peanuts might enjoy it too. The only really awkward thing is the solid peanuts...they taste nice and texture etc., but you cannot cut the pie nicely because the nuts get in the way of making even slices and the top (which gets hard as the pie bakes) gets all cracked and uneven when you slice. So...it tastes good and looks bad? I would make it again, but not to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This wasn't what I was expecting. It reminded me more of a pecan pie only this had peanuts. It is very good with some whipped cream but it is also very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I Made homemade pie crust, because, I live in the south, I went to the corner and bought some boiled peanuts, to avoid what others said about the peanuts getting in the way. cooked in the middle of the oven, and it turned out wonderful! yummy. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Just like the peanut butter pie in high school!! I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!! And I don't even like Peanut Butter! We made it for Thanksgiving dinner and the kids went nuts over it - I had to make another! This time I tried it without the peanuts and it was still delicious! Definitely will settle any sweet tooth! I recommend a nice glass of milk with it - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Channon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Man, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Wow, this was easy and good. I used light corn syrup + a little molasses instead of the dark syrup. I think the whole peanuts are fine, I used a serrated knife and sawed through them, and the slices cut nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Oh good, someone else knows the *right* way to make peanut butter pie! Nearly identical to how my grandmother always made it back in Texas. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This did not set at all. It was very thick liquid like. I mean it tasted great. Had it set, I would've probably given it 5 stars but since I made it twice and both times it wouldn't set, I gave it 3 stars. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I wanted to use the 8 Keebler mini graham cracker shells I had on hand for this. After reading some reviews complaining about the pies being runny, I changed the ingredients to: 1/2 cup Splenda; 1/2 cup corn syrup - only had light on hand, so used it; 1/2 cup extra crunchy peanut butter; 2 eggs; 1 tsp vanilla; and the rest of the peanuts I had on hand. As both the peanut butter and the nuts were salted, I omitted the salt. They were cooked to perfection in about 35 minutes (probably because of the smaller crusts). The recipe thus became almost exactly my pecan tart recipe, minus the butter and pecans and plus the peanut butter and peanuts! Thanks for sharing this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States