Southern Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Comfort food at it's finest. If you're looking for a meal for a cold night, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Yummmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was yummy and a big hit with the family. I sautéed the mushrooms with butter and a splash of wine and passed on the bread crumbs. Can't really fathom what they would have added to this delicious soup. I will definitely keep this in my recipe rotation - especially now that's officially autumn again. I think next time I will use a couple of different types of mushrooms to add layers of flavor. You know you've got a winner when you're asked, "why don't you make that mushroom soup again". Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is perfect mushroom soup. I've been looking for a good recipe to use instead of the canned glop. Preparation is very simple and quick. The only substitution was to use 1 cup fat free milk and 1 cup half-n-half for the milk and cream in the recipe. It came out creamy and smooth. I also used white pepper instead of black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I have tried this recipe, It was great! But the second time I made it, I put a cup of tiny Shrimp in...It was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanleygirl44

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
It was pretty good but I forgotten the milk! No wonder something is missing :) I didnt follow the exact method but sauté the mushroom and onions with butter first. I even added some garlic before adding in the liquid and flour last. Prefer it to be thicker and creamier. Any tips? Oh yeah...I did add pastry puff on top and bake it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
My hubby doesn't rave about much, he'll say it's good or not bad... but this one he returns to in the fall and winter... he loves this recipe!!! We don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this a while ago, and I'm making it again tonight, as it was an instant hit with my husband (if you like mushrooms, of course...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
it's a good basic recipe, I made it like the recipe said and found it ok. I made it againbut this time i used beef broth instead of chicken broth, added 1/2 tsp. of ground cummin, 1/2 tsp. dried thyme, 1 bay leaf, and 2 Tbl. of worchester sauce. i think these changes really improved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Fabulous!!! I made a few teaks simply because I like to do that and I didn't have chicken broth, so I used half and half instead of the other liquids, added 3 tbsp of powdered chicken bouillon, and white wine. This was by FAR the very best mushroom soup I have tasted in my life and my husband would agree. I will use this recipe again and recommend to others! I am sure it would be equally as good without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Easterling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States