Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheCrizzler
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Followed the recipe , used the whole jar of marshmallow fluff , soooooooo good ! Also decided to make a dark chocolate ganache for the top Cookie , the bitter of the dark chocolate takes away a little bit of the sweet from the filling , which I really liked the out come of :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These were a big hit at the pinewood derby, but just a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Sinful! Hard not to eat every last one of them! Helpful Hint #1 ..Do not over mix batter and cool in fridge before baking..do not flatten an let them cool completely. #2 Used 3/4 C of confection sugar for filling ..is very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Don't let the other reviews scare you off. This recipe is simple to make and no need to change anything- just follow the directions. That being said I did just use the whole 7 oz jar of marshmallow creme instead of measuring out 1 cup. Very tasty- everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I only made the chocolate cake part of this recipe as I have another icing recipe I have been wanting to try and this was perfect for it. The cake cookies are perfect. 6 minutes at 380 was perfect for mine. When I had it at 400, they burned just a tad, but my oven runs a bit hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Just made this recipe for a function for 100 people... They were a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made these for my class and they loved them! When creaming together the butter, evaporated milk and sugar; I was a little worried because things were so chunky. But as I added the other ingredients, that chunkiness went away. Overall, a great recipe. Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Easy to make. Did not modify the recipe - very good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Didn't need to change a thing. Baked the cookies on parchment paper. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedbywolves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these for small dinner party that I went to tonight. I used a #24 scoop for putting the batter on the parchment. That size scoop made 24 cookie halves that were about 4-41/2" in diameter, about the size of a real moon pie. They turned out OK but next time I think I'll made a filling that won't run as bad as the one in the recipe. Maybe a little less sweet too. Over all the people that ate them seamed pleased with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States