Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: If you do only use 1C of marshmallow creme, make your kids a pb&marshmallow sandwich with the leftover creme as they wait for the pies to cool to apply the filling. This ensures you don't eat all the same hour you made them! However, you really should use the entire 7oz jar of creme but keep the other amounts for the filling the same. I didn't even put thick amounts of filling in-between nor can I imagine it because it's very rich, BUT my husband who hates SWEETS says this is the best dessert ever! Brags to his coworkers. hehehe Some complained about a "butter" taste to it, but I think that's from not blending well & using room temp butter. As far as the crust/pie part, I used a mixer for the butter and sugar then dumped the rest of the ingredients on top. Doesn't effect taste & you save yourself a bowl! HOWEVER, DO NOT OVER MIX!! This is why I mix everything AFTER all the ingredients have been added. Too much = liquid dough & you will have pancakes instead of beautiful puffed cakes. Speaking from experience! Stick in the fridge between batches or even before baking. For best results, don't flatten or touch the rounded medium scoop (what I use) after it hits the cookie sheet. Then you'll have perfect puffy pies like you see in everyones picture! After I take it out, I use my spatula to cut around any pies that didn't come out perfectly round. Works great instead of trying to do it w/your hand (which makes it obvious)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
These turned out excellent. Having said that, I must also say that they are not moon pies as I know them. A moon pie is two flat cakes that sandwich a layer of marshmallow and is coated in chocolate like coating. Also delicious.And when you bite it the marshmallow is tough and strings a little. This is more like a Whoopie pie. Tender and cake-like and the filling is tender too. I'll be adding this to my collection and using it. I don't see any reason why you couldn't use cool whip as a filling or maybe even strawberry jam or whatever you like with chocolate that would spread easily. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I loved the dreamy marshmallow concoction that went between these cookies. These tasted a lot like "Joe Louis"! If you've ever visited Canada you'd know what I mean. I recomend making the cookies smaller and flatter next time and doubling the frosting. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Kids loved these! I did make some modifications. I halved the cookie part of the recipe, used a mini cookie scoop sprayed with pam to make snack sized pies. My cookies measured about 1" before baking and 2" after baking. Baking time was 5-6 minutes on a silpat. As for the filling I used the whole jar of marshmallow creme, a small amount of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening for a stiffer filling. I sprinkled some of filling with jimmies. These were a great snack size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I was looking everywhere for a recipe. I used regular milk instead of the buttermilk and it came out great! The kids helped and everyone loved them. I even wrapped them individually and froze them, the still tastedm great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I sold these cookies at a bake sale and EVERYONE wanted the recipe. They all said they were better then what you can buy. I doubled the filling and it was just enough. Also the cookie dough looked really "soupy" (I thought I did something wrong) but they were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've made these many times and everyone always raves. I've tried doubling the filling but it makes them too sweet for my taste. To make them picture perfect, I put the filling in a zip lock bag, cut off a corner and pipe a circle on each half being careful not to get too close to the edge. This way you can see the filling without it getting everywhere. This also cuts down on the amount of filling helping to keep the sweetness in check.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
These were very good, much more like Suzie Q's than moon pies but still very tasty. I made them exactly as stated and as with previous reviewers mine did not flatten out that much, but I did not think they needed to. Also I thought the amount of frosting as written was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
it was ok...the filling was too buttery and pies were BIG. its something more for kids than adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LongLiveLasagna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
These are good, but WOW -they are super sweet! Those who said to double the icing...there is no way I could eat them like that..I'd be a diabetic by evening! LOL The cakes are a nice balance to the sweet filling. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States