Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My husband begged me to make these. I have to admit I had my reservations, but after tasting my first one, I don't regret it! The cookie part was very easy to make, but I followed some others' suggestions. I used a level tbsp versus the rounded one and flattened it a bit before baking. My cookies still turned out quite rounded (I can only imagine what they would have looked like had I used the full rounded tbsp!) And based on the "too buttery" comments on the frosting, I only used a third cup butter. These were absolutely fantastic! Reminded me of a smaller Suzy Q but not as sweet. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Kids loved these! I did make some modifications. I halved the cookie part of the recipe, used a mini cookie scoop sprayed with pam to make snack sized pies. My cookies measured about 1" before baking and 2" after baking. Baking time was 5-6 minutes on a silpat. As for the filling I used the whole jar of marshmallow creme, a small amount of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening for a stiffer filling. I sprinkled some of filling with jimmies. These were a great snack size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The filling in these ruined it for me. I would have rather had plain marshmallow fluff. The hole stick of butter is waaay too much. I suggest flattening the cookie dough when you put them on the pan, mine rose more than they spread and made them a little difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These were amazing!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!! Everyone loved it!! I didn't change anything went by the recipe to the letter.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
it was ok...the filling was too buttery and pies were BIG. its something more for kids than adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LongLiveLasagna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
these were absolutely amazing...so easy to make and i followed the recipe exactly. I did not need to make extra filling...you do not need to glob on so much filling for them to taste delicious!! A friend told me that it might be one of the best things I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Usually I hate marshmallow...but I loved it in the middle of the the cookies! My whole family loved them, and my friend asked where I bought them!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These are the best! I've made them for years -- but we called them "Chocolate Bulldogs" They are certainly are a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Very good recipe...I followed previous reviewers' advice and used 1/4 cup shortening in the marshmallow filling - sets up real nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Only used the filling recipe and it does not make very much. I was trying to make 18 whoopies and had I continued to use this recipe I would have had to triple it. Tastes good, you just need to make more than it states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States