Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Very good recipe! My family really liked these. I personally thought the marshmellow mixture tasted like there was too much butter in it for my taste, so may add less next time. But others in my family didn't seem to notice that. This made a lot of cookies for me, so make sure you are ready to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
These are so good! They are fast and easy to make. I also added more marshmallow cream. I added lots of yellow and red food coloring to the filling to make it a bright orange. It looks like the perfect Halloween treat and tastes like one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mineral Bluff, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Used the cake recipe and then made my own creme. Seemed to have the right texture. Tasted wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I loved these - what a yummy treat! I have to figure out a way to store them, though. When I put them in tupperware, they stuck to the bottom and to each other. Other than that, they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
mmmmm, I made these for a summer barbeque and they were a huge hit. I followed the recipe exactly. Although I agree with other reviewers that the filling did taste a bit buttery. Next time I may use 3/4 of a stick instead of a whole stick (1/2 cup). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: If you do only use 1C of marshmallow creme, make your kids a pb&marshmallow sandwich with the leftover creme as they wait for the pies to cool to apply the filling. This ensures you don't eat all the same hour you made them! However, you really should use the entire 7oz jar of creme but keep the other amounts for the filling the same. I didn't even put thick amounts of filling in-between nor can I imagine it because it's very rich, BUT my husband who hates SWEETS says this is the best dessert ever! Brags to his coworkers. hehehe Some complained about a "butter" taste to it, but I think that's from not blending well & using room temp butter. As far as the crust/pie part, I used a mixer for the butter and sugar then dumped the rest of the ingredients on top. Doesn't effect taste & you save yourself a bowl! HOWEVER, DO NOT OVER MIX!! This is why I mix everything AFTER all the ingredients have been added. Too much = liquid dough & you will have pancakes instead of beautiful puffed cakes. Speaking from experience! Stick in the fridge between batches or even before baking. For best results, don't flatten or touch the rounded medium scoop (what I use) after it hits the cookie sheet. Then you'll have perfect puffy pies like you see in everyones picture! After I take it out, I use my spatula to cut around any pies that didn't come out perfectly round. Works great instead of trying to do it w/your hand (which makes it obvious)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These are AMAZING! I printed the recipe out, but it took me weeks to finally make them,and now I have made them over and over! Only alteration I make is I cut back on the amount of sugar in the cookie crust. Between the confectioners' sugar and marshmallow cream, they are wonderful and sweet enough. I bake a lot, but my 10 year old daughter has never requested I make anything until these. Cannot thank you enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
DELICIOUS!! I made these following the recipe exactly. They turned out delicious! The only thing I would change in the future is to double the icing recipe. I love icing and this icing was delicious, I just would have loved more per moon pie. I took the extras into work and everyone started calling me Rachael Ray, which speaks for itself!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy:)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
AWSOME and so yummy, thank you for a new addition to my recipe collection:) The ONLY issue I had was the first batch I cooked came out nice and fluffy and the rest seemed to spread thinner with crispier edges. I only had one baking sheet. Do the cookie parts need to be all baked at once, if so I will need to buy more baking sheets:) Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Delicious! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States