Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
DELICIOUS!! I made these following the recipe exactly. They turned out delicious! The only thing I would change in the future is to double the icing recipe. I love icing and this icing was delicious, I just would have loved more per moon pie. I took the extras into work and everyone started calling me Rachael Ray, which speaks for itself!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy:)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
AWSOME and so yummy, thank you for a new addition to my recipe collection:) The ONLY issue I had was the first batch I cooked came out nice and fluffy and the rest seemed to spread thinner with crispier edges. I only had one baking sheet. Do the cookie parts need to be all baked at once, if so I will need to buy more baking sheets:) Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Delicious! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These are simply AWESOME! They are just like my Mum made when we were kids. In Pennsylvania we refer to them as Whoopie Pies or Gobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
THIS. IS. AMAZING. Its like a giant soft oreo. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My husband begged me to make these. I have to admit I had my reservations, but after tasting my first one, I don't regret it! The cookie part was very easy to make, but I followed some others' suggestions. I used a level tbsp versus the rounded one and flattened it a bit before baking. My cookies still turned out quite rounded (I can only imagine what they would have looked like had I used the full rounded tbsp!) And based on the "too buttery" comments on the frosting, I only used a third cup butter. These were absolutely fantastic! Reminded me of a smaller Suzy Q but not as sweet. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Kids loved these! I did make some modifications. I halved the cookie part of the recipe, used a mini cookie scoop sprayed with pam to make snack sized pies. My cookies measured about 1" before baking and 2" after baking. Baking time was 5-6 minutes on a silpat. As for the filling I used the whole jar of marshmallow creme, a small amount of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening for a stiffer filling. I sprinkled some of filling with jimmies. These were a great snack size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The filling in these ruined it for me. I would have rather had plain marshmallow fluff. The hole stick of butter is waaay too much. I suggest flattening the cookie dough when you put them on the pan, mine rose more than they spread and made them a little difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These were amazing!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!! Everyone loved it!! I didn't change anything went by the recipe to the letter.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
it was ok...the filling was too buttery and pies were BIG. its something more for kids than adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LongLiveLasagna

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States