Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I usually bake at least once a week, usually 3 or 4 things at a time. These are my all time favorites! They are so easy to mix up and bake. They are pretty quick to put together and taste so good. The chocolate cake part is not very sweet, but the filling is, so each bite is heavenly. They taste just like a Devil Dog to me. I use parchment paper, so I can remove them when done cooking, and then use the baking sheet again. I always plan on trying a variation, but then I remember how good they are with the original recipe, that I just keep making them that why. My only problem with them is that when I know they are there, I want to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These were okay, but kinda on the dry side. My husband didn't care for the filling so I then tried more of a cake frosting type from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inuyasha211
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These are very easy to make, and taste really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inuyasha211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA
Photo by maryb
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Excellent! Nice soft cookie, fluffy filling, easy to make - I loved these! They are just as popular with adults as they are with kids. I substituted coconut milk for the evaporated milk, which I knew was taking a big chance, but it worked great. One of my favorite moon pie (or whoopie pie if you're a northerner!) recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These were great! My kids loved them. I used a cookie scoop so they would be a more uniform shape. I will definitely make these again! I think next time I'll experiment with the filling and make a cheesecake filling, but this filling is great too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've made these many times and everyone always raves. I've tried doubling the filling but it makes them too sweet for my taste. To make them picture perfect, I put the filling in a zip lock bag, cut off a corner and pipe a circle on each half being careful not to get too close to the edge. This way you can see the filling without it getting everywhere. This also cuts down on the amount of filling helping to keep the sweetness in check.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I loved this recipe! The only thing I changed was the amount of marshmallow in the filling- I doubled it so that the ratio of marshmallow to butter was a little higher. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Very good recipe! My family really liked these. I personally thought the marshmellow mixture tasted like there was too much butter in it for my taste, so may add less next time. But others in my family didn't seem to notice that. This made a lot of cookies for me, so make sure you are ready to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
These are so good! They are fast and easy to make. I also added more marshmallow cream. I added lots of yellow and red food coloring to the filling to make it a bright orange. It looks like the perfect Halloween treat and tastes like one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mineral Bluff, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Used the cake recipe and then made my own creme. Seemed to have the right texture. Tasted wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States