Southern Made Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This cheese ball is very good. Half a recipe produced two smaller-sized balls, perfect for a party. I rolled mine in fresh chives from my garden, which made a nice color-contrast with the reddish/pinkish color of the cheese ball. The only issue I had with this recipe was the saltiness: I rinsed the ham, and used Tony Chachere's (which is the BEST stuff, by the way!) per the submitter's suggestion, but still found it a bit salty. Don't let that scare you away from the recipe, though. The taste is really good. Try it on rye crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
about the saltiness,,, maybe it's in the creole seasoning you are using,, we use Toni Chacheres,, some of them do contain alot of salt, also, be careful not to use garlic SALT, this could add alot of salt. I have never had this complaint when I make them, so it has to be in something that your using. Thanks to everyone for the great reviews,, I made another one this weekend, and everyone seems to love it, my kids fight over it.. Also, it's great for the adkins diet, except you might want to use light mayo instead of miracle whip, and also substitute wheat crackers instead of white flour based crackers. Thanks - Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
since i'm a bit concerned about the green onion purity these days, i used chives from my own garden. before you put this out on the platter, slice some crispy apples. makes a great presentation, and the apples go well with the tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Very simple to prepare and very tasty. The spices add just enough zing to keep it from being boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Have made this several times at the request of my guests - the spicy little kick was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
easy very creamy very tasty will make agian, makes alot I halved the recipe my grandkids loved it, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This was a hit...really yummy! Actually made 2 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Gosh! This recieved a total mixed review at my daughter's birthday get-together: ALL agreed that the taste was great BUT at least half of us thought this was too salty! (I'm not sure from where exactly - I added no salt at anytime and I rinsed my ham off before I added it). Half of us were chugging glasses of water after a few bites - meanwhile, the other half had no complaints. I'd love to make this again but I have to find a way to make it less salty. I'll check future reviews for tips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Excellent! Next time I make it, I'll try diced hard salami or pepperoni in place of the ham. I pressed the cheese ball into a pretty jello mold and turned it out onto a plate and surrounded it with a variety of crackers. Beautiful, tasty and all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This cheeseball recipe is the best I have ever found! I cannot take it ANYWHERE without having to share the recipe..... I always make two using the ingredients- 1 rolled in chopped pecans & chives, and 1 plain- One change I do make- I cannot stand Mayo so I sub it for sour cream.. What a hit!! THANK YOU for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRILEY0727
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States