Southern Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
I am a mother of 6 children and often have 7+ little ones at the table, not to mention a hungry father. This is an ideal dish. It mixes ease, nutrition, and child appeal all in one package. It can be served as a main dish or a side dish. I also took it as a dish to the Synagogue and not one macaroni was left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was very loose when it was first made. Definitely better the following day because it held it's shape. Next time I plan on using 16 oz. cottage cheese and 16 oz. cheddar cheese because I prefer a stronger cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe was very easy to make. My mother, who normally doesn't go for mac and cheese loved it. It does taste better the next day also... The only thing that I would change on this is to add more sharp cheddar cheese. I love cheese, and to me, it didn't have enough sharp cheddar in it. I also didn't put in the 16 oz of sour cream, and it wasn't soupy... very tasty tough and will be adding this to my recipe collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Very good mac n cheese! I would add a little more pepper next time - but a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I took everyone's advice and added more shredded cheese than the recipe called for. It definitely helped, but would have been even better with less cottage cheese, maybe just 16oz. The taste and consistency are better the second day. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunny Isles, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
I grew up in the South and this is not the mac&cheese I remember. I thought this was pretty bland and it didn't look appetizing at all. We ate it because that is what I had made for dinner but the remainder got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Not very good. The cheese curdled and it was too bland. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
my family enjoyed this - would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I made this for a family thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it. my aunt called me later to ask for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This was ok. Since I like cottage cheese more than cheddar, I made the recipe as stated. I guess I was expecting something a little creamier, this was very solid when it was done. If I ever make again, I might leave out the eggs and bake just enough to heat it through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States