Southern Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
It wasn't all that great. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it tasted bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Super easy and super yummy. This was a big hit with the kids and adults alike. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so used Cajun seasoning instead and also went with the suggestion to only use 16 ounces of cottage cheese. I definitely plan on using this for potlucks and as a staple at family dinners since it's comfort food that even the pickiest eater will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Not a fan of this one. I thought it was very bland. I had to add quite a few other ingredients to make it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I've made this recipe for years. My family loves it. Only change is to use mild for half of the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great comfort food. Everyone loved this dish that my brother-in-law brought to our Easter potluck. I am making it today and adding in leftover, cubed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Eh. Just ok. It didn't have much cheese flavor (I even used extra sharp) and was overall bland (I even used a little extra cayenne). I don't recall ever having 'southern' mac and cheese so perhaps this is representative of what that dish should taste like. But if that's the case I guess I'm not a fan of southern macaroni and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Good basic recipe- easy to change to suit your family's taste buds! I use 16oz of cottage cheese and double the amount of cheddar. I also use a dash of garlic salt, a bit of onion salt, some parsley and regular ground pepper for flavor. This is also good if you add fresh green onions and celery. If you want it as a meal, add some chopped up ham or johnsonville brats!!! My family loves it EVERY time I make it...never the same way twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was not very good. I am from the South and I understand what it was trying to achieve, but it did not make it. I will be using my regular method with ricotta, cheddar and eggs next time. As with the other reviews, maybe it will taste better tomorrow. Live and Learn...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good I made this on the stove top, didn't have the time to bake it. Will try next time. I did add some Louisiana hot sauce, splash of Worcestershire, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My family loves it especially my twelve year old son. Have made it several times and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States