Southern Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My family loves it especially my twelve year old son. Have made it several times and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
I am a mother of 6 children and often have 7+ little ones at the table, not to mention a hungry father. This is an ideal dish. It mixes ease, nutrition, and child appeal all in one package. It can be served as a main dish or a side dish. I also took it as a dish to the Synagogue and not one macaroni was left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe was very easy to make. My mother, who normally doesn't go for mac and cheese loved it. It does taste better the next day also... The only thing that I would change on this is to add more sharp cheddar cheese. I love cheese, and to me, it didn't have enough sharp cheddar in it. I also didn't put in the 16 oz of sour cream, and it wasn't soupy... very tasty tough and will be adding this to my recipe collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I made this for a family thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it. my aunt called me later to ask for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I'm the expert at makeing mac&cheese, however, this recipe blew my family away.....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Living in South Carolina, for awhile, I've come across SEVERAL "Southern" Macaroni and Cheese recipes- none of which compare to this! This is what I remember as a kid! Although, I didn't use the full 16 ounce cantainer of sour cream- maybe about half and like other comments before mine- I am a cheese lover! The more the merrier! I used 2 cups of cheese as my starting point and added more as desired. Caught my Aunts husband scrapping the side of the dish to get the remaining fork full. Nothing was left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
It pretty much doesn't get any better than this mac and cheese. Once I was given this recipe by a friend, I've never gone back to any other way of making it. My family LOVES it, it's the perfect comfort food! We like to eat it with Sloppy Joes. Only thing I do different is omit the spices on here & use garlic salt to taste, and I only use 2 eggs. If you want to make it healthier(ha ha, as if mac and cheese could ever be healthy!!!) use whole wheat macaroni, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat sour cream, reduced fat shredded cheddar....you seriously will NOT miss the extra fat, it is just as yummy! Nothing better than a bowl of warm, gooey, good ole' mac and cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe ROCKS. My daughter found it and we all love it. I love that you can scale this down to 2 people too.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe and of coursed doubled it for leftovers. I added real bacon bits and corn to the mix.Very good and the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this today for my family and they loved it. I changed a couple things by using only half of the sour cream and I doubled the cheese the recipe called for. Added some garlic powder, salt and pepper for taste since it was pretty bland when I sampled it. Topped with colby the last 5 minutes and took the foil off. Overall, it was good but the next time I will use more than one cheese. Sharp cheddar was okay but it would have been off the charts with a combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States