Southern Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
I am a mother of 6 children and often have 7+ little ones at the table, not to mention a hungry father. This is an ideal dish. It mixes ease, nutrition, and child appeal all in one package. It can be served as a main dish or a side dish. I also took it as a dish to the Synagogue and not one macaroni was left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe was very easy to make. My mother, who normally doesn't go for mac and cheese loved it. It does taste better the next day also... The only thing that I would change on this is to add more sharp cheddar cheese. I love cheese, and to me, it didn't have enough sharp cheddar in it. I also didn't put in the 16 oz of sour cream, and it wasn't soupy... very tasty tough and will be adding this to my recipe collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I took everyone's advice and added more shredded cheese than the recipe called for. It definitely helped, but would have been even better with less cottage cheese, maybe just 16oz. The taste and consistency are better the second day. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunny Isles, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
I grew up in the South and this is not the mac&cheese I remember. I thought this was pretty bland and it didn't look appetizing at all. We ate it because that is what I had made for dinner but the remainder got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was very loose when it was first made. Definitely better the following day because it held it's shape. Next time I plan on using 16 oz. cottage cheese and 16 oz. cheddar cheese because I prefer a stronger cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is very close to a favorite recipe from a diner in Western North Carolina. I did not find it dry at all. I used large curd cottage cheese so maybe smaller curds make a drier dish. I thought it was delicious and I'll be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Not very good. The cheese curdled and it was too bland. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
It pretty much doesn't get any better than this mac and cheese. Once I was given this recipe by a friend, I've never gone back to any other way of making it. My family LOVES it, it's the perfect comfort food! We like to eat it with Sloppy Joes. Only thing I do different is omit the spices on here & use garlic salt to taste, and I only use 2 eggs. If you want to make it healthier(ha ha, as if mac and cheese could ever be healthy!!!) use whole wheat macaroni, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat sour cream, reduced fat shredded cheddar....you seriously will NOT miss the extra fat, it is just as yummy! Nothing better than a bowl of warm, gooey, good ole' mac and cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMYWIFE99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Very good mac n cheese! I would add a little more pepper next time - but a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe and it was soooo easy to make.. Living in the South you quickly learn there are a million ways to make mac & cheese, as for me I've found my stand by mac & cheese recipe in this one! Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States