Southern Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Forgot to post a picture... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love this recipe been doing it like this for 2 years .... I just use more mild an sharp cheese and no cottage cheese BEST MAC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe and it was soooo easy to make.. Living in the South you quickly learn there are a million ways to make mac & cheese, as for me I've found my stand by mac & cheese recipe in this one! Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Easy, quick, simple, and tasy mac-n-cheese option. Way better than pre-made stuff at the grocery of heaven forbid the box stuff. My family of four loved it. Reheat during the week for a quick dinner side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this today for my family and they loved it. I changed a couple things by using only half of the sour cream and I doubled the cheese the recipe called for. Added some garlic powder, salt and pepper for taste since it was pretty bland when I sampled it. Topped with colby the last 5 minutes and took the foil off. Overall, it was good but the next time I will use more than one cheese. Sharp cheddar was okay but it would have been off the charts with a combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe and of coursed doubled it for leftovers. I added real bacon bits and corn to the mix.Very good and the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe ROCKS. My daughter found it and we all love it. I love that you can scale this down to 2 people too.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
It pretty much doesn't get any better than this mac and cheese. Once I was given this recipe by a friend, I've never gone back to any other way of making it. My family LOVES it, it's the perfect comfort food! We like to eat it with Sloppy Joes. Only thing I do different is omit the spices on here & use garlic salt to taste, and I only use 2 eggs. If you want to make it healthier(ha ha, as if mac and cheese could ever be healthy!!!) use whole wheat macaroni, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat sour cream, reduced fat shredded cheddar....you seriously will NOT miss the extra fat, it is just as yummy! Nothing better than a bowl of warm, gooey, good ole' mac and cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Living in South Carolina, for awhile, I've come across SEVERAL "Southern" Macaroni and Cheese recipes- none of which compare to this! This is what I remember as a kid! Although, I didn't use the full 16 ounce cantainer of sour cream- maybe about half and like other comments before mine- I am a cheese lover! The more the merrier! I used 2 cups of cheese as my starting point and added more as desired. Caught my Aunts husband scrapping the side of the dish to get the remaining fork full. Nothing was left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I agree wit others, add more cheese to macaroni...another addition would be 2 cups of shredded mild cheese on top (I put it on 5mins before dish was done) and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States