Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't have chedder cheese so i used velvetta and this is so yummy and so easy , will make it a regular at our table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! I used the dish it called for, but in doing so, was unable to make all of the layers! I topped with just a little bit of bread crumbs and it was amazing, even microwaved the second time! I think next time I will use an 8 inch square pan instead! Oh, and just a little heads up, even on heat setting three, it took a little while for it to start to thicken up, but hang in there, it's totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Just like what Grandma used to make! If the other reviewer had lumpy sauce they didn't culture the eggs as instructed 1 Tablespoon at a time. I have been looking for a Mac n Cheese recipe like my Grandmother made and this is as close as I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My boyfriend is a very picky eater but he loved this mac and cheese and I even forgot to add the second can of milk and added two bags of cheese and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I love this recipe because there is not many ingredients and just so happened to have them on hand while in a hurry to make a side dish!!! My family LOVED it! I have several different recipes for Mac and cheese but I do believe this is the best one!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
came out great i did everything exactly and added crushed cheez its on top 4 cruch now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is my second time making this, last time I did not use egg, evaporated milk or paprika, I had used 2% milk, pepper jack cheese, cheddar cheese, and the other ingredients minus egg and paprika. It came out pretty great but this time I made with the exact ingredients minus the egg(NOT A FAN OF IT) I know it will come out tasting even better again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
So tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Excellent!! I have had a hard time making mac & cheese in the oven this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dreiling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
All is well and good but try topping this dish with some toasted buttered bread crumbs. Before baking the dish, simply melt about a table spoon + of butter in a small frying pan, Add about a cup of regular bread crumbs and lightly brown (toast)the bread crumbs. Spread or sprinkle the toasted bread crumbs on top of the casserole and bake as directed. A simple step but it does add another layer of flavor and texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States