Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Amazing! Made it exactly like the recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was interesting. I happen to love regular macaroni and cheese, and had never heard of this style, with eggs and evaporated milk. I made it exactly as written. I wasn't sure if the macaroni should have been 2 cups by volume, or by weight, but I figured by volume, and it seemed to have been the right choice. I was a little hesitant about the differentness of this (for example, the evaporated milk turning into somewhat of a ricotta-like texture), and actually enjoyed the reheated leftovers more. I'm not sure whether the "layering" technique was necessary, though, as it pretty much all seemed to blend together. This was decent, but I'm not sure I'd make it again instead of a more conventional mac-and-cheese dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this today. LOVE IT... I bought smoked gruyere and vermont cheddar cheese. I shredded them and followed the directions as written EXCEPT, I DIDN'T USE ANY PEPPER OR PAPRIKA. I did however use 1 reviews suggestion of browning up some breadcrumbs and topped it off with that. This isn't the cheesy type of mac n cheese but that's alright with me. The smoked gruyere was perfect. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Two things that are important to the end result: use canned milk; and follow the directions for the milk/egg mixture: For some who may not know, it is mandatory to add a little of the heated milk to the beaten eggs as described to 'condition' the eggs to the hotter temperature. If you just 'dump' the cold eggs into the hot mixture, the yolks will cook, and you will have a mess. Stir constantly as milk has a tendency to scald if the temperature is too hot. Once the mixture begins to form tiny bubbles around the edges in the pot, it is simmering. Do not boil. continue to stir constantly and, if necessary, remove from heat and lower temperature. When the milk/egg mixture coats the spoon, you are ready to proceed to the next step, in my opinion. And, if you don't understand the term 'coating the spoon' it means that when you take the spoon from the pot, a coating of the mixture should remain on the spoon. You don't want the sauce to be thick - it will reduce/thicken as it bakes in the oven. This is my go-to mac n cheese recipe henceforth. I had been looking for a recipe that incorporated eggs, and I found perfection in this recipe--at least for my taste. Absolutely the best mac n cheese I have ever made. Thanks to dameionec for shartin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe as written except I added more cheese than called for. It turned out wonderful. The whole family enjoyed it and the left covers were still moist after microwaving the next day. Will make again and again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
All is well and good but try topping this dish with some toasted buttered bread crumbs. Before baking the dish, simply melt about a table spoon + of butter in a small frying pan, Add about a cup of regular bread crumbs and lightly brown (toast)the bread crumbs. Spread or sprinkle the toasted bread crumbs on top of the casserole and bake as directed. A simple step but it does add another layer of flavor and texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Excellent!! I have had a hard time making mac & cheese in the oven this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a very good macaroni and cheese dish. I added bread crumbs to the top which added a nice crunch. You do have to be careful to add the milk mixture slowly to the eggs so as not to cause lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is better than boxed mac and cheese but it's so thick and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Salvati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States