Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Just like what Grandma used to make! If the other reviewer had lumpy sauce they didn't culture the eggs as instructed 1 Tablespoon at a time. I have been looking for a Mac n Cheese recipe like my Grandmother made and this is as close as I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is my second time making this, last time I did not use egg, evaporated milk or paprika, I had used 2% milk, pepper jack cheese, cheddar cheese, and the other ingredients minus egg and paprika. It came out pretty great but this time I made with the exact ingredients minus the egg(NOT A FAN OF IT) I know it will come out tasting even better again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! I used the dish it called for, but in doing so, was unable to make all of the layers! I topped with just a little bit of bread crumbs and it was amazing, even microwaved the second time! I think next time I will use an 8 inch square pan instead! Oh, and just a little heads up, even on heat setting three, it took a little while for it to start to thicken up, but hang in there, it's totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I love this recipe because there is not many ingredients and just so happened to have them on hand while in a hurry to make a side dish!!! My family LOVED it! I have several different recipes for Mac and cheese but I do believe this is the best one!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My boyfriend is a very picky eater but he loved this mac and cheese and I even forgot to add the second can of milk and added two bags of cheese and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
came out great i did everything exactly and added crushed cheez its on top 4 cruch now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't have chedder cheese so i used velvetta and this is so yummy and so easy , will make it a regular at our table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
All is well and good but try topping this dish with some toasted buttered bread crumbs. Before baking the dish, simply melt about a table spoon + of butter in a small frying pan, Add about a cup of regular bread crumbs and lightly brown (toast)the bread crumbs. Spread or sprinkle the toasted bread crumbs on top of the casserole and bake as directed. A simple step but it does add another layer of flavor and texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
So tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Excellent!! I have had a hard time making mac & cheese in the oven this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dreiling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States