Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
All is well and good but try topping this dish with some toasted buttered bread crumbs. Before baking the dish, simply melt about a table spoon + of butter in a small frying pan, Add about a cup of regular bread crumbs and lightly brown (toast)the bread crumbs. Spread or sprinkle the toasted bread crumbs on top of the casserole and bake as directed. A simple step but it does add another layer of flavor and texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Excellent!! I have had a hard time making mac & cheese in the oven this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a very good macaroni and cheese dish. I added bread crumbs to the top which added a nice crunch. You do have to be careful to add the milk mixture slowly to the eggs so as not to cause lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is better than boxed mac and cheese but it's so thick and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Salvati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
So tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Two stars because I think this could have been great with one change - there is way too much black pepper. Maybe it was supposed to be 1 teaspoon instead of a tablespoon? As is, the pepper is very overwhelming and ruined the dish for me. I will definitely make again and just use way less pepper because I think it was good other than that. I also was not able to make four layers using the dish it specified but I just kind of mixed the cheese in and it came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is my second time making this, last time I did not use egg, evaporated milk or paprika, I had used 2% milk, pepper jack cheese, cheddar cheese, and the other ingredients minus egg and paprika. It came out pretty great but this time I made with the exact ingredients minus the egg(NOT A FAN OF IT) I know it will come out tasting even better again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
came out great i did everything exactly and added crushed cheez its on top 4 cruch now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
very tasty but I will cut the 1 tablespoon of pepper in half next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Wilkins
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My family is from the deep south - many generations so good southern cooking is something we take pride in. Thinking maybe I should change things up a bit, I made this recipe exctly as stated. I think the black pepper was WAY too much and ovrewhelming. The eggs made an odd consistency to the dish. Will not make this or recommend it to others. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States