Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Wow - really good. Based on prior reviews, i only put in 1 tsp of pepper. I also left out the paprika - mostly because I forgot it. Second time I made it, I ran out of cheddar, so I used half velveeta and half cheddar. I melted the velveata in the evap milk mixture. then I just mixed everything together and dumped in the baking pan. Much easier and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I love this recipe, although I only use two eggs three is too many. Unfortunately the kids do not like it with eggs so I seldom get to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Cotie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this a bunch of times. I love it and whole family enjoys it. Only thing I changed after following recipe exactly the first time is I use less pepper now and I prefer half chedder cheese and half monterey Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apryllshowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is so funny! I've been cooking my mac & cheese exactly like this for many, many years! It is absolutely perfect made just as is. My son (who is now grown and married) requests it every time they are coming home for dinner. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary L Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It's the bonb. So good and rich and cheesy. Just how I like my mac n cheese.Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Was bland and not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Taste great but more work than is needed in MHO. My family recipe is very much the same, but instead of all that work, you just cook the noodles al dente, then layer with: first a little cheese, then noodles, salt,pepper, pats butter, layer of cheese. Continue layering until at the top of the dish. Wisk the eggs with the milk, then pour over the entire top. (Depending on depth of dish, may not have enough liquid,but then just mix up more eggs and milk. Liquid should be showing about 3/4 inch below surface of cheese/noodles. Bake and enjoy! This has been a family recipe for years, and so delicious and easy! (I actually have been substituting skim milk, and also evaporated skim milk, and works just as well. Regular skim milk just needs to cook a little longer until bubbling and can tell it is finished when center, when pulled aside by a fork, is not "milk" consistency but rather looks like half-cooked scrambled eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'm sharing my review only because it may help others to learn from my mistakes... This was a big fat fail for me unfortunately. I'm just thankful I didn't prepare it for company. I have always been curious about egg based mac and cheese and decided to give this a try. I used 1 can of evaporated milk, and 1 can milk/cream mixture. Mistake #1? I used a mild cheddar cheese - maybe my cheese wasn't a very good melting cheese...Mistake #2? My egg/butter mixture looked fine when I mixed in the macaroni, maybe just slightly lumpy. But once I layered and baked it it came out awful... not creamy or cheesy at all. The macaroni looked plain boiled pasta alongside chunks of ricotta cheese lumps. It was a sad waste of 4 cups of cheese. I did follow the directions to temper the the egg mixture, really took my time with that, but I may have messed up waiting for it to thicken as I let it bubble for a minute while re-reading the recipe. Mistake #3? Well all these mistakes resulted in a tray of unsalvageable pasta. I am going back to my usual roux based macaroni and cheese. It seems more forgiving and always provides the creamy cheesy dish I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I am not an expert chef, but I enjoy cooking, watch a LOT of "Food Network" and consider myself a fairly knowledgeable cook, but I made a startling discovery when making this recipe that I felt I should share. To the purists- I always read the reviews first and adjust accordingly. I reduced the pepper to 1.5 tsp. - I only used 2 eggs, and I added 2 tsp of sugar. After carefully following the directions for the roux, I then added the cheese into the sauce so that it was all melted together in a yummy sauce, then added the pasta, stirred, and moved over into the 9x13 baking dish. The pasta was absolutely swimming in the sauce. I clearly did not have enough. I went back and cooked 2 more cups of the pasta, added it, then baked. It was delicious. But what the heck was the problem with the amount of pasta? I assumed the problem to be the fact that I substituted "mini farfalle (bowties) in place of the elbow mac. I then ran a search and LO AND BEHOLD – I found a pasta conversion chart! WHAT? I can't believe I've never seen or heard anything about the need to make adjustments based on a pasta substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I think there was way too much pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Bright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States