Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and was not a fan of the final product. The amount of butter made the final product too rich and greasy . I, like other reviewers found the texture odd and like ricotta cheese and though I layered the cheese as specified it did not seem that after baking, that the cheese ever integrated with the milk and egg mixture . The final product was just not very tasty and nothing like traditional macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Amazingly delicious. The very best I've ever made and possibly the best I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I used Ritz crackers on top for the perfect finish. This was a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My husband loved this. Just like his Mama made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The BEST mac-n-cheese recipe I have made so far, and easy!!!! Here are the modifications I made and it turned out perfect: - used one teaspoon of pepper instead of 1 tablespoon - used more cheese (8 ounces of cheddar, 16 ounces of sharp cheddar-- I saved about 1 cup of the sharp cheddar until the end to sprinkle on top of the whole dish - added cubes of smoked ham YUUMMY FLAVOR! - I didn't do the layering in the pan, I just mixed all the ingredients into the big pot with the egg/milk mixture - I didn't use regular salt, I just sprinkled Lawry's seasoning salt after all the ingredients were mixed in the big pot, to taste, right before I poured it all into the baking pan -I had to cook about 25-30 minutes in my oven My family really enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have been looking for a good hearty mac and cheese recipe that everyone would enjoy and this was it. I was a little hesitant on it because of the layering and I wasn't sure how the cheesy the noodles would be but it turned out great. I made this for a last minute Christmas dinner and was surprised that there was nothing left after dinner. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good. Saved it & will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I thought this was very good. My gauge is if the sauce is nice and creamy and this certainly was creamy. I did replace the cheddar with Velveeta as that is my comfort cheese for mac and cheese. I also added my cheese to the milk/butter mixture and just put it all in one large corning wear casserole and it fit perfectly. One reviewer commented that the eggs made the cheese sauce weird and lumpy. If you follow the instructions and add the egg a Tablespoon at a time, the eggs won't get lumpy. It is time consuming so don't rush that step. This is a great recipe and goes well with ham. I brought it to a New Years Eve party where ham was the main dish and it was received very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving. My boyfriend's favorite food is homemade mac and cheese. This was a major hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe. It's so simple and absolutely warms the soul. Thanks for a great comfort food recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States